Creamy Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Made this for dinner last night and it was a hit! The only thing I did differently was use shredded Mexican style cheese in place of the fake processed cheese food called for. Was out of Cheddar or I would have used that. I also added a 1/2 cup of French fried onions to the cracker crumbs, other that that I stuck to the recipe. I can't say we'll have it too often because of all the fats in it but it will definitely be a now and then special occasion treat. My son had his bottle of wing sauce ready in case it lacked flavor for him but he didn't use it after all. Yummy stuff! One plus was no cans of soup in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Feigenbaum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
My husband and I absolutely love this! It is creamy, very flavorful, and overall satisfying. And I agree, that it is even better as a leftover. For whatever reason, my kids aren't as crazy about it, but will eat it. We use less rice, and if you are a non-processed cheese kind of person, you can leave out the Velveeta. Just add another cup of milk, 1/4c butter and 1/4c flour. The mixture without the Velveeta is equally amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Very yummy. This will replace my cream of chicken soup recipe I usually make for dinner. I used Cheddar Cheese not Velveeta (personal preference) and boiled the rice in stock. Next time I will try adding some frozen veggies and string the mixture into the rice before baking. I may have made mine too thick, but it didn't get all the way down into the pan of rice. It was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Wife has been making this for several years. While it isn't to my personal tastes, ( it's just ok) the rest of the family are crazy about it and ask for it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Great recipe! The only change I made was to use jalapeno Velveeta to give it a "kick."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
It was too much fat, too little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I made this with some leftover chicken and my husband said it was the best chicken & rice I've ever made! I used French fried onions & bacon flavored bread crumbs for the topping and it was so good! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelamae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Manuel, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
We used real cheese rather than processed velveeta and it was delicious.. if you use shredded it melts easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This is great! Lots of flavor and makes plenty for a family of four. Made green beans on the side. Would be good with a fresh loaf of crusty bread. Will make again for sure. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Palka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Really enjoyed this. Used wild rice blend and greek yogurt but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States