Creamy Chicken and Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This was SOOO good. I simmered some carrots in the broth and already had some leftover rice I threw in at the end of the recipe. Those were my only changes.. This was very good thick stew. The only time it could get too thick is during the reheating/leftover period. But still, just add milk and its just as good or better as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Delicious! I prefer a richer soup so I subbed 1 1/2c cream for the milk. I also used sherry & garlic. Thanks for a great soup to warm up on this cold October evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Delicious -- even a picky 3 year old enjoyed it. I did modify it a bit. I sauteed the onion and celery in butter/olive oil, and added 2tsp of minced garlic. Then I poured the broth and water into that, added the rice and a bit of dried thyme, and brought to a boil. Instead of doing the roux, I just added the 4c of milk to the cooked rice mixture and let it simmer for a while. It thickened up beautifully and was less labor intensive and lower fat. Can't wait to have the leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I found it a little bland, and 1c butter seems like a lot. I added garlic salt, salt and pepper, could use more chicken boullian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Soup was way to thicken even with adding extra milk...was also very bland...ended up adding curry powder, majoriam, and two more boullian cubes and some water and it ended up much better...overall very bland recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I never though it could be so easy! Everyone loves it and always asks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamagideon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This is a really good base soup. However, I'll agree with some of the other reviewers in saying that it sincerely needs spices added to it or it is BLAND. Cook the chicken in garlic, pepper and seasonsed salt in butter. Add spices to the rice mixture as its cooking. Add pepper and salt to the rue. If you do all that, when you put it together it should taste WONDERFUL. I'm not exactly sure why everyone is saying this recipe is too thick though...its a creamy soup...its supposed to be a little thicker than a normal soup. I had no problems whatsoever with it being so thick you could put it on a plate! Great recipe with a few alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This is fairly good and can be accommodating to adjustments. I only had a little over a cup of butter on hand, so I supplemented with heart-healthy margarine. I also added about 3/4 cup carrot diced small to add color. Only had a cup of brown rice, so supplemented with white. Used skim milk because this is all we have on hand. Still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
As the comments said, it's REALLY thick and very milky, so it may have been better to cut the roux in half and use more chicken broth instead of milk. It also has no flavor. I added a couple cloves of garlic, but just didn't seem to have enough taste. So I added some thyme and that seemed to work. This recipe makes enough for a small army, so I would suggest making half when you are first trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
blah, needed more spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Rupp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States