Creamy Chicken and Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Added Carrots and used Wild Rice instead of Brown Rice but it was just what I was looking for. Delicious! So good as leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
The family LOVED it! I made one change that I didn't seen any other reviews had: I added the 4 cups of milk and then instead of adding more milk, I added about 2 cups of my homemade chicken broth to it, then it still had rich flavor but without as much of the calories. I also changed a few things that I saw other reviewers had done, I added 1.5 cups of diced carrots and sauted the veggies in the butter, and I cooked 1 c. white rice in chicken broth. This was excellent and I didn't feel near as guilty when I had a 3rd bowl later in the evening!! Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hoffman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
very simple to make very tasty,if i can make anyone can.turned out great for this non cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saw@home

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
very good, will for sure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This is a great recipe. I didn't have any bouillon cubes on hand so I used tumeric and curry - spices that are flavorful and good for you. I also did not use celery. I cooked chopped onion, carrots and garlic in olive oil before the first step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This was very good! I cut the recipe in half and there was still a lot left over! It did turn out more like a stew than a soup, so if you like it soupier, add more milk. I happened to enjoy it as a stew. The only thing I did was use white rice instead of brown as a personal preference and I used all chicken broth versus water. I also added minced garlic as I am a garlic fanatic! The only thing I might recommend is adding a vegetable like carrots or brocolli for color. My rice-phobic 13 year-old stepson even really enjoyed it! Thanks! It's an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tw0810

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seffner, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I tried to make this recipe twice and both times it turned out horrible. I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Yum! Just made this tonight and I cut the recipe in half. Mine ended up thick and rather than add more milk than the recipe called for (even by half) I left it and we ate it with cornbread. I can see myself making this again and again, maybe adding a veggie or using boned chicken. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is a good soup but i made a 1 change and one addition that made it a great soup instead of salt I used season salt and I squeezed 1 lemon and added the juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
AMAZING!! I used alot of the changes people suggested. 1/2 cup of butter, 1/4 cup sherry, 1 cup of rice, a ton of garlic, 4 T of flour, all chicken broth instead of water. I used 1chicken bouillon cube, shallots, carrots & an already roasted chicken from the store. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States