Creamy Chicken and Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This was very good! I cut the recipe in half and there was still a lot left over! It did turn out more like a stew than a soup, so if you like it soupier, add more milk. I happened to enjoy it as a stew. The only thing I did was use white rice instead of brown as a personal preference and I used all chicken broth versus water. I also added minced garlic as I am a garlic fanatic! The only thing I might recommend is adding a vegetable like carrots or brocolli for color. My rice-phobic 13 year-old stepson even really enjoyed it! Thanks! It's an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tw0810

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seffner, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I tried to make this recipe twice and both times it turned out horrible. I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Yum! Just made this tonight and I cut the recipe in half. Mine ended up thick and rather than add more milk than the recipe called for (even by half) I left it and we ate it with cornbread. I can see myself making this again and again, maybe adding a veggie or using boned chicken. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is a good soup but i made a 1 change and one addition that made it a great soup instead of salt I used season salt and I squeezed 1 lemon and added the juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
AMAZING!! I used alot of the changes people suggested. 1/2 cup of butter, 1/4 cup sherry, 1 cup of rice, a ton of garlic, 4 T of flour, all chicken broth instead of water. I used 1chicken bouillon cube, shallots, carrots & an already roasted chicken from the store. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This was a wonderful dinner with a loaf of warm fresh bread. Next time I will add carrots and saute the veggies before adding the liquids. I added poultry seasoning but I think garlic is needed also. I only used 4 cups of milk because I like my soup thick. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
It was good, but it didn't wow us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Excellent! Left overs didn't last 1/2 a day in my house. My family rated it an 11 out of 10! The only personal touches I made was I used white long grain rice, added about a 1/4 cup of lemon juice and a couple dashes of tyme and a bit more milk to thin just a bit. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
YUM!! Tasted like the chicken and rice soup I get at my favorite casual restaurant. My whole family loved this soup, which doesn't usually happen!! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanadu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This soup is very thick and filling. I think I used almost a whole gallon of milk! It was very good though. I didnt have any celery on hand so I used small diced carrot for an extra veggie. I also used regular long grain rice because I didnt have brown rice. My kids loved this! I think this recipe feeds more than 8 people. More like 10-12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States