Creamy Chicken and Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Really nice treat, very very rick, maybe only make for company for 1st course in small quantity so you can enjoy it w/o the guilt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Delicious! It is very thick and you can certainly thin it with milk if you like. Adding garlic, as others suggested, really made it great. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This was delicious! I halved the recipe for my hubby and I. It turned out fantastic. I also used fat free milk and added chopped garlic and carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Mullan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Made this for the first time today. Couldn't wait 'til it was done to taste. Added more salt and pepper. Also Lemon amd Pepper seasoning salt. Used broth from the cooked chicken. Thinking about adding a bit of shredded cheddar cheese! Next time I may decrease margarine and rice. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Connersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Good basic recipe. I didn't quite follow the order, but mostly used all the same ingredients. I sauteed garlic, onion, carrots and celery in butter in pan. Removed to bowl. Added whole chicken breasts to pan and cooked in oil. Chopped up. Made the roux in my soup pot, and added crushed rosemary to that. Added 4 cups milk, added chicken and veggies. Cooked until veggies were almost soft. Added one more cup of milk. Added 3/4 cup uncooked white rice (wild would have been better but I didn't have any) and added salt, pepper, pinch of dill and a little extra garlic powder. Simmered for 20 minutes. My family could not stop saying how delicious it was. I know I strayed from the original recipe, but it was my inspiration. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerLynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
fantastic! made 10 servings for my 6 and had just enough for lunches the next day. Even my picky 4 year old had two servings, wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Delicious! I used some of the changes recommended by others. My boyfriend said it's one of his favorites!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I thought this was great just the way it was, love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This is such a good comfort food for the 18 degree weather we are experiencing! I read all the reviews, and made the following adjustments: This is for half a recipe. I first sauted then cut up chicken in about 2 T olive oil with some bottled chopped garlic, and seasoned it with salt, pepper, some red pepper flakes, and a shake or two of Creole seasoning I removed the chicken and used the remainling oil to saute about 1 1/2C each chopped onion and carrots ( I use a Mandolin dicer) . I cut the amt. of rice in half, ie.1/2C and here's a hint. Brown rice takes forever to get tender! It took extra liquid to get it soft and fluffy. I used only about 3T of flour in a half stick of butter, and cooked it slowly until it had browned a bit. I thought it made a nice amount of soup, but 4 of us (3 men, 1 woman) cleaned it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Made it last week and it was a hit at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States