Creamy Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
I didn't have enough cream cheese to make my regular cheesecake so I tried this recipe. Excellent! Easy! I left out the lemon and topped with cherry pie filling. I ended up baking for about 35 minutes. Take it out while the center is just jiggly. Also try putting a large pan of water in the oven while preheating and baking. The moist oven helps cut down on cracks. Turn the oven off and let the cheesecake sit in the oven while it cools off to help avoid cracking. Another reviewer mentioned having trouble with lumps in the cheesecake. The cream cheese needs to be at room temperature before creaming with the sugar. That should take care of the lumps. Great recipe and not nearly as time consuming as a traditional cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
250 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pdassis
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
This is a very easy recipe, and it comes out very creamy and tasty. Just cut back on the sugar, otherwise it will be very sweet (I've been using half a cup of sugar instead of the recommended 3/4, and it's just perfect). I also skipped the lemon zest and everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
This cheesecake is beyond compare !!!! So creamy and it tastes like you have been baking it for hours. To those who say that the filling doesn't fill the pie crust up try this; After you have put in all your ingredients into your bowl, beat it with a stand mixer or a hand mixer for a least 12 to 15 min, believe me when I say "it will be worth your time" and dedication. Also, use a water bath, of boiling water. Fill the pan up only to the half way point of your cheesecake. If you over feel the pan your cheesecake will be a total lost I learned that from a friend, but it was a good laugh. Than when the time is up turn the oven off and let the cheesecake sit in the oven until the oven is cold. Oh yea I toped my cheesecake off with a sauce that I made from strawberries this summer.If I could give it more stars I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARTHECOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Mill Cove, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
This was good...unfortunately I have already tried Chantal's New York Cheesecake from this site....and it was absolutley delicious. I truly liked that one better, but this was good too. I don't think this was as creamy even with mixing it for 15 minutes...and the flavor wasn't as intense as we would have liked. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Turned out perfect! This was my first time making cheesecake. Used previous reviews tips. Reduced sugar to 1/2 cup, omitted lemon juice (didn't have any on hand)mixed about 10 mintues,used a water bath (used cheescake tips), baked 25 min, tuurned off oven left it in one hour, chilled in fridge overnight, spread strawberry filling over top and it was AWESOME! Everybody LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
Fabulous! I changed the recipe a bit: I omitted the lemon, used fat-free cream cheese, and topped it with light cherry pie filling. It turned out wonderful! Perfect for those who love a creamy, light, but not cakey cheesecake..it didn't get super-firm. My whole family loved it even though I made it with fat-free cream cheese; they couldn't believe it when i told them! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
My husband loved it and he knows cheesecakes. It came out extremely creamy and silky. I was very proud of the first ever cheesecake I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
My oldest son and I made this cheesecake together. We made the graham cracker crust from scratch and we used reduced fat cream cheese for the cheesecake. This was very simple for his first foray into cheesecake--we all were quite pleased with the results. I made a mixed berry topping to spread over the top, it was excellent. It's already half gone.......my husband had "extra" late last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
This was my first time making a cheesecake and everyone loved it! It was absolutely delicious and creamy. I took some of the advice listed and omitted the lemon zest and also let the pie cool in the oven for about 1/2 hour before removing it and letting it cool completely outside on my countertop before putting it in the fridge. By doing this I avoided cracks on my cheesecake. I'm already getting requests to make another one. Thanks Karin for a great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Riverdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Simple,basic recipe...comes out a little too flat,if you want a higher cheesecake you have to double the recipe. I made a homemade graham craker crust and added some small choc. chip morsels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States