Creamy Cheddar Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
After getting 3 cavities filled, this made a comforting dinner that was easy to prepare. Only word of advice is turn the heat down when you add the onions to the butter or they will burn! This is versatile, as I was eating it I was thinking of all the things I could add to it: cubed ham, potatoes, unseasoned croutons, crumbled bacon, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
This is a great soup. I used low sodium broth (boxed)and left the soup unblended. It was great with the pieces of onion in it. I know it's not Fall yet, but it sounded so good I tried it in August. My family really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayne Stanley Hurley
Home Town: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Thank you Maureen ! This recipe for cheese soup is EXACTLY what I have been looking for. I had this soup back in the 80s at a very nice restraunt in the Old Port (Portland ME) here. They have since closed and how I have MISSED having this. We top it with bacon pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I've made this a few times, and I could never get it really creamy until I used velveeta. It's a wonderful soup, and I will make it for years to come, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
This is a winner! Use New York State Sharp Cheddar, which is worth the extra few pennies. I also used low-sodium broth, since the cheese tends to be a bit salty. You can always add more salt if you prefer, but it's better to start low and work up! Thanks for a terrific soup that is worthy of company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I have 3 1/2 lb blocks of frozen cheese that just crumble into 100000 little bits when thawed, and this was a perfect way to use some of that cheese. I liked the texture and the soup kept well in the refrigerator. I also mixed in some leftover nacho beef and made nacho soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Harper
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Quick, easy and delicious. Plenty of room for experimentation too - broccoli, cauliflower, blue cheese etc etc. Nice recipe, Maureen. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Very comforting and tasty. When I served mine, I put a dollop of sour cream with crumble bacon and a little grated cheese on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This is fantastic! Very easy and very delicious. I found this recipe because I had to have dental work done today, and can eat only soft foods for a few days. I'm so glad I made this! The only change I made was to use 1/2 Velveeta and 1/2 sharp cheddar (out of necessity). Great recipe--thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maurertown, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
As I suspected, this is a perfect base for cheese soup, and as a bonus it's already a fairly small serving. Which is good because this is a two person household. I made this by the book, did not change anything, well, one minute thing. I needed to steal about 1/2 cup of colby because I was shy of 1lb. It turned out PERFECT. The only thing I'm going to change is the types of cheese to try. The cheddar was good, but I only had sharp cheddar so there was a bit of twang to it. Next time, I'm going to do a "white" soup and see how it turns out. Best thing about this, is that it didn't break up or get an oil slick, everything just blended together. I recommend using a wooden slotted spoon for the entire recipe. It worked great and I didn't have to dirty a whisk or anything else until I had to use the ladle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjam1303

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States