Creamy Cheddar Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This is fantastic! Very easy and very delicious. I found this recipe because I had to have dental work done today, and can eat only soft foods for a few days. I'm so glad I made this! The only change I made was to use 1/2 Velveeta and 1/2 sharp cheddar (out of necessity). Great recipe--thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maurertown, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
The soup was simple, but tasted great! Everyone liked the soup even kids (and I didnt blend it) I made my own chicken broth and included pieces of chicken. Also, I sparkled basil and parsley. I made it second time. Again used homemade chicken broth. This time I blended it. Tastes great! This soup is very rich and filling, I would recommend to serve in smaller bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was pretty good. I used the velveeted as suggested by someone else to make it extra creamy. I also baked and added 4 med. potatoes cubed. The taste was a bit bland, so I added some worcester sauce, a few dashes of hot sauce, garlic and onion powder. We also topped it with shredded sharp cheddar and seasoned croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Telford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
We love cheese, but this needed more flavor and zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Wow, this was so good! I used a half point of mild cheddar and a half pound of sharp cheddar. Also, chopped up 6 strips of bacon and added after the cheese was melted. This just added a little something extra. So very good and we'll definitely make this on again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I made this last night and although it was tasty it was to runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Great soup, not hard to make, I threw in a few pieces of cooked bacon in the blender, thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Good recipe! I did some tweaking of my own. Added some cream cheese,fresh basil, and spinach as well. I think Potatoes would be an amazing add on to this recipe... I didn't have any, unfortunately. Nonetheless, So SOOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
As I suspected, this is a perfect base for cheese soup, and as a bonus it's already a fairly small serving. Which is good because this is a two person household. I made this by the book, did not change anything, well, one minute thing. I needed to steal about 1/2 cup of colby because I was shy of 1lb. It turned out PERFECT. The only thing I'm going to change is the types of cheese to try. The cheddar was good, but I only had sharp cheddar so there was a bit of twang to it. Next time, I'm going to do a "white" soup and see how it turns out. Best thing about this, is that it didn't break up or get an oil slick, everything just blended together. I recommend using a wooden slotted spoon for the entire recipe. It worked great and I didn't have to dirty a whisk or anything else until I had to use the ladle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjam1303

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This soup is soooooooo nummy and super super easy!!! I did add some mozzerella cheese to it and 1 1/2 c milk and 1 1/2 heavy cream, Wal-Mart brand is very thick and very well priced!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmbymelissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States