Creamy Celery Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
Since I was the first to try this recipes, I felt compelled to jot a few things down! I really dislike the taste of celery, but decided to try it, and it was suprisingly phenomenal for a celery recipe. However, I did substitute a couple things that really improved and masked the celery taste. I used shitake mushrooms instead of regular ones and added red peppers instead of green peppers. I also omitted the butter to make it lower in calories and fat! The flour, milk and cheese make this side dish creamy. And the thick bread cumb layer really adds something. Give it a whirl, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Who would want to be caught dead making celery for dinner. What's for dinner? Celery casserole.....LOL! My family would run out the door. Well, but I have leftover celery all the time and never know what to do with it. I thought I'd try this recipe and found it to be really tasty. When my husband heard what it was made of it shocked him but he still thought it tastes great. Who would've thought....? I really have to say, I'll be making this again and again. What a pleasant surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was delicious. So easy. I tried it because I had a lot of celery on hand. Wasn't sure if I would really like it or not. But it's great! I used fresh mushrooms and sauteed all the veggies with the celery. I also cut the recipe in half since there were only two of us for dinner. Thank you for a recipe with a "real" sauce and not a sauce made from canned soup. Much better, fresher flavor. I think I might try using this recipe as a sauce for a green bean casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
This was very good. I made a vegan version of this recipe. I cooked the celery until it was soft and I substituted oil for the butter, 1c soy milk for the milk, 3/4c nutrtional yeast for the cheese, and some finely chopped rice idilis for the bread. Next time I will use 1/2 c nutritional yeast and 1/2c water instead of the cheese (as mine was a little too thick). This recipe turned out creamy and satisfying. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
As my girlfriend was leaving on holidays and unloaded her fridge on me, I received along with other things celery which I had just purchased myself on shopping day. So the hunt was on....this recipe fit the bill to a T. Used fresh crimini mushrooms instead of canned, fresh red bell peppers, some green onions and minced a couple of garlic cloves to boot. Did 50/50 butter and canola oil for cooking the veggies and made the roux with almond milk. It turned out amazeing. Very flavorful and fresh tasteing. Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raymond, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This was quite tasty, and you wouldn't know that I used half the butter, nonfat milk, and reduced fat cheddar! I liked how the celery was tender but still crisp. I substituted onions for the pimentos and mushrooms, and added them at the beginning with the celery. I had to half the recipe because I ran out of celery. 1 cup of chopped celery is about 2 1/2 or 3 stalks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was something out of the norm; good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I used gluten-free flour and breadcrumbs, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. It's certainly easy and it turned out delicious! I'm sure I will be making this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
We really like celery in this house but I prefer it cooked so this recipe hits the spot. The only changes I made were to accommodate our tastes and that is use fresh mushroom and red peppers. Thanks for a good side dish which will get used often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Too salty!!! I was very skeptical about a celery casserole, but was pleasantly surprised by the flavor; however, it was WAY too salty for my taste. I think I could have omitted the salt completely and it would have been much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Creamy Celery Root Mash

See how to make a quick, creamy vegetable side dish.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States