Creamy Celery Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
Since I was the first to try this recipes, I felt compelled to jot a few things down! I really dislike the taste of celery, but decided to try it, and it was suprisingly phenomenal for a celery recipe. However, I did substitute a couple things that really improved and masked the celery taste. I used shitake mushrooms instead of regular ones and added red peppers instead of green peppers. I also omitted the butter to make it lower in calories and fat! The flour, milk and cheese make this side dish creamy. And the thick bread cumb layer really adds something. Give it a whirl, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Who would want to be caught dead making celery for dinner. What's for dinner? Celery casserole.....LOL! My family would run out the door. Well, but I have leftover celery all the time and never know what to do with it. I thought I'd try this recipe and found it to be really tasty. When my husband heard what it was made of it shocked him but he still thought it tastes great. Who would've thought....? I really have to say, I'll be making this again and again. What a pleasant surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Very tasty and a great way to use up leftover celery. This great side dish I will definitly make agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
Delicious, but don't think I'll make again. It was just tooooo "celeryish". Also, I think the celery and green pepper could have cooked together, and could have cooked at least twice as long, because it was just a little too crunchy for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
This was very good. I made a vegan version of this recipe. I cooked the celery until it was soft and I substituted oil for the butter, 1c soy milk for the milk, 3/4c nutrtional yeast for the cheese, and some finely chopped rice idilis for the bread. Next time I will use 1/2 c nutritional yeast and 1/2c water instead of the cheese (as mine was a little too thick). This recipe turned out creamy and satisfying. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
This was a nice change for a different side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This is so good! I have made it a number of times. Only once did I have a problem and that is when I tried to double it. I made it until where it should have been put in the oven and let it sit overnight in the fridge. That time it got way to runny. I don't know if I should have not increased the liquid or if letting it sit produced all the excess liquid. That is the only time I had a problem. This is one of our new favorites now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
i realy realy liked this recipe...my grandparnts on the other had...well i found out the realy relay dont like cooked green pepers lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This was quite tasty, and you wouldn't know that I used half the butter, nonfat milk, and reduced fat cheddar! I liked how the celery was tender but still crisp. I substituted onions for the pimentos and mushrooms, and added them at the beginning with the celery. I had to half the recipe because I ran out of celery. 1 cup of chopped celery is about 2 1/2 or 3 stalks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was delicious. So easy. I tried it because I had a lot of celery on hand. Wasn't sure if I would really like it or not. But it's great! I used fresh mushrooms and sauteed all the veggies with the celery. I also cut the recipe in half since there were only two of us for dinner. Thank you for a recipe with a "real" sauce and not a sauce made from canned soup. Much better, fresher flavor. I think I might try using this recipe as a sauce for a green bean casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Creamy Celery Root Mash

See how to make a quick, creamy vegetable side dish.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States