Creamy Celery Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
this was ok. it used up my over abundance of celery, which is what i wanted to do, but i wouldn't run to this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeatherMaven

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
As suggested by some others I think this would taste very good over chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was something out of the norm; good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I'm not a picky eater, but this recipe just didn't work us. We through out half the batch, and honestly, I felt a little ill after dinner. I see from the reviews that other people love this recipe, so I guess it's a matter of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
As my girlfriend was leaving on holidays and unloaded her fridge on me, I received along with other things celery which I had just purchased myself on shopping day. So the hunt was on....this recipe fit the bill to a T. Used fresh crimini mushrooms instead of canned, fresh red bell peppers, some green onions and minced a couple of garlic cloves to boot. Did 50/50 butter and canola oil for cooking the veggies and made the roux with almond milk. It turned out amazeing. Very flavorful and fresh tasteing. Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raymond, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I had a ton of celery to get rid of, so I wanted to make this but I don't care for bell peppers or pimentos. I subbed some onion and used an 8 oz package of fresh baby portabellas. This recipe is very yummy! Flavorful and reminded me a little bit of stuffing because of the bread crumbs. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was delicious. So easy. I tried it because I had a lot of celery on hand. Wasn't sure if I would really like it or not. But it's great! I used fresh mushrooms and sauteed all the veggies with the celery. I also cut the recipe in half since there were only two of us for dinner. Thank you for a recipe with a "real" sauce and not a sauce made from canned soup. Much better, fresher flavor. I think I might try using this recipe as a sauce for a green bean casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This was quite tasty, and you wouldn't know that I used half the butter, nonfat milk, and reduced fat cheddar! I liked how the celery was tender but still crisp. I substituted onions for the pimentos and mushrooms, and added them at the beginning with the celery. I had to half the recipe because I ran out of celery. 1 cup of chopped celery is about 2 1/2 or 3 stalks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
i realy realy liked this recipe...my grandparnts on the other had...well i found out the realy relay dont like cooked green pepers lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This is so good! I have made it a number of times. Only once did I have a problem and that is when I tried to double it. I made it until where it should have been put in the oven and let it sit overnight in the fridge. That time it got way to runny. I don't know if I should have not increased the liquid or if letting it sit produced all the excess liquid. That is the only time I had a problem. This is one of our new favorites now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Creamy Celery Root Mash

See how to make a quick, creamy vegetable side dish.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States