Creamy Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This recipe is OK as a starting point, but I think I'd have been disappointed if I'd made it as written. I just about doubled the recipe, and it still only made what I'd consider 3 servings. I also used light coconut milk in lieu of heavy cream, veggie bouillon and potato water instead of broth, and a dash of cinnamon. Came out a little thin but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This soup is wonderful! I have made it about 5 times and it turned out great every time. I have made it with coconut milk a few times and regular milk (even non-fat/skim)a few times as well, both were very good. I will definitely continue to use this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was AMAZING! I agree to keep the broth and add Coconut Milk instead of half and half. Its so good that 3 servings is way to little of a batch to make. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This recipe is great! Here's what I did: 1) quadrupled everything except for the broth. 2) substituted chicken broth for veg broth, rosemary for dill, and ground ginger for fresh. 3) also added cinnamon as one reviewer suggested. 4) did not discard any of the broth. It turned out excellent, and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Just finished eating this, and it was so so delicious. My husband says it was the soup ever! I loved it too. The flavors were so delicate and just meshed well. I just substituted fresh dill for about 1/3 tbsp of dried dill weed. I will definately save this recipe for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This is a very good recipe, but not a five star without some revisions. For a five star recipe, I revised as follows: as most others, I added coconut milk instead of cream. I also did not discard the broth! That would be incredibly wasteful of the nutrients in the veggies! I did not have any fresh dill, so I added a little dried. I used about half of a medium onion and added 2 cloves of garlic. I also added 1/2 teaspoon each of curry powder and cayenne pepper. The results were spicy and tasty! Other than the above revisions, I followed the recipe. Thanks for posting, I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
substituted heavy cream with coconut milk which made the taste so delicious. next time would double the ginger as was not strong enough for us. took advice of others and usd half stock - actually prefer to serve this as a puree and not a soup (ie leave out the cream or coconut and just blend carrots / potatos / dill / ginger with the cooking stock - delicious!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This soup is very good. I added a little garlic powder, curry, and cayenne pepper. Like others I did not drain the broth at all. I used only one can of broth (about 1 3/4 cups). I think this made it a little thicker which was good. This is probably one of the best soups I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
this was great, a big hit for a fall party, with bread and cheese and salad. And I did follow the recommendation of using COCONUT MILK instead of cream. Big hit, very tasty. I did not get rid of any broth, etc. just pureed it all, then stirred in the coconut milk. People were impressed because I could call it "vegan".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rumba-queen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mill Valley, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
this is one of the best soup recipes I have come across, my boyfriend is vegetarian and I made this for one of the courses for his b-day dinner and he loved it and now begs me to make it often. I use whole milk though to cut down on a bit of the fat instead of cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States