Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by yese
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I followed the advice of other reviews and mixed the wet ingredients at room temp before starting on the sugar. I used a handheld mixer instead of a blender and it turned out great. I have never made caramel before so when my sugar started clumping and taking forever to melt I did freak out a little bit. After a couple of calls to my mother, I was assured it was normal and the sugar melts soon after it starts clumping, which in this case it did. Don't be scared to use med-med high heat otherwise you'll be stirring the sugar for 45 min just like me. While I was making the caramel, I put my glass dish in the pre-heated oven so that when I poured the sugar it would not immediately harden. I also put my dish in a (hot - I forgot and put cold water) water bath for even baking. I didn't know what the recipe meant by "set" as I have never made flan so I baked it until it was firm which made the consistency closer to a cheesecake than a traditional flan which wasn't a problem because after refrigerating it, it was delicious and creamy!! Also - I added vanilla to the wet ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I made this today. Was very excited to think it would be a creamy flan. Unfortunately, still turned out with that slick eggy texture, even with the cream cheese, I used a glass 10" pie plate and the recipe was way too much for that size pan. I am looking for a recipe my daughter-in-laws grandmother made almost 8 years ago. It was perfection. Smooth, creamy, and I can still remember the wonderful rich flavor and texture that just melted in my mouth. She had lived in Peru awhile as a missionary, and I believe the recipe might be from that area. Alas, she is unwilling to part with her recipe, so I continue my search, and many flop recipes, as this one was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I made this recipe with the following changes: Instead of condensed milk, I used whipping cream and instead of vanilla I used a teaspoon fresh lemon juice. On the next day, I made a lemon meringue and pour it on the cheesecake instead of a crust.This was a surprise for my son,and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Truly one of the best easy recipes for first time bakers. Super easy and taste delish! Have made this 7x and all a success. The helpful comments made by Nicole and Tracey on this site helped make this Creamy Flan a success! RAE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I am a big flan lover but a novice when it comes to cooking. I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a hit. I took another reviewer's advice and made the caramel with 1/4 cup water and 1 cup sugar in the microwave. I put it on high in 2 minutes increments. I would stir it every 2 minutes. Mine caramelized in around 5 minutes. Also II mixed everything in the blender and strained it. it was Sooo perfect. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I just wanted to add something about the caramel, If you poor it into a cold glass pan and it hardens, there is no need to panic. All you need to do is continue with the rest of the ingredients for the flan poor it over the hard sugar/caramel then bake it in the water bath and the temp from the oven will melt the caramel and it will turn out just fine. I learned this on accident. I did the same thing as Nicole on a different flan except I didn't start over I just went with it. It was delicious. As far as the flan that the caramel stayed in the pan well that might be because it wasn't caramelized enough when you pored it. Or it just could have been a fluke. :) Happy baking everyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I just put it in the oven. What a mess. I guess 10" baking dish does not mean a 10" pie dish; what size eggs? The caramel is so hard I'm afraid someone will break their teeth. Hope it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Make this recipe all the time! It is awesome. Always get request to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time, two weeks ago and it came out perfect! Everyone loved it, and I am making another one right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I made this recipe and had GREAT TROUBLE with the sugar/caramel part. I saw, as I just looked through, that you have a good article on making caramel, but I was unable to copy or put those instuctions into my recipe file or to print the various ways make the caramel. Would you either e-mail the instuctions or tell me how to copy your article. Tonika. arnold6297@cox.net
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States