Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
My husband has been making this flan for years for him and his family. They just love it so this is his 5 star rating. The caramel takes soooo long to make. I dread helping make it because of that. I made a suggestion to my husband that next time we try another caramel recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This turned out perfect. After beating everything together, I noticed some really small lumps of cream cheese, so I poured the mixture through a wire mesh strainer into the pan. No lumps to mess up the texture! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I made this for my Aunt and Uncle they loved it!! I love the texture. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynthia mills

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dee Rodriguez
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Love the texture & creaminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Rodriguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yese
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I followed the advice of other reviews and mixed the wet ingredients at room temp before starting on the sugar. I used a handheld mixer instead of a blender and it turned out great. I have never made caramel before so when my sugar started clumping and taking forever to melt I did freak out a little bit. After a couple of calls to my mother, I was assured it was normal and the sugar melts soon after it starts clumping, which in this case it did. Don't be scared to use med-med high heat otherwise you'll be stirring the sugar for 45 min just like me. While I was making the caramel, I put my glass dish in the pre-heated oven so that when I poured the sugar it would not immediately harden. I also put my dish in a (hot - I forgot and put cold water) water bath for even baking. I didn't know what the recipe meant by "set" as I have never made flan so I baked it until it was firm which made the consistency closer to a cheesecake than a traditional flan which wasn't a problem because after refrigerating it, it was delicious and creamy!! Also - I added vanilla to the wet ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I made this today. Was very excited to think it would be a creamy flan. Unfortunately, still turned out with that slick eggy texture, even with the cream cheese, I used a glass 10" pie plate and the recipe was way too much for that size pan. I am looking for a recipe my daughter-in-laws grandmother made almost 8 years ago. It was perfection. Smooth, creamy, and I can still remember the wonderful rich flavor and texture that just melted in my mouth. She had lived in Peru awhile as a missionary, and I believe the recipe might be from that area. Alas, she is unwilling to part with her recipe, so I continue my search, and many flop recipes, as this one was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I made this recipe with the following changes: Instead of condensed milk, I used whipping cream and instead of vanilla I used a teaspoon fresh lemon juice. On the next day, I made a lemon meringue and pour it on the cheesecake instead of a crust.This was a surprise for my son,and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Truly one of the best easy recipes for first time bakers. Super easy and taste delish! Have made this 7x and all a success. The helpful comments made by Nicole and Tracey on this site helped make this Creamy Flan a success! RAE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raealonzo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I am a big flan lover but a novice when it comes to cooking. I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a hit. I took another reviewer's advice and made the caramel with 1/4 cup water and 1 cup sugar in the microwave. I put it on high in 2 minutes increments. I would stir it every 2 minutes. Mine caramelized in around 5 minutes. Also II mixed everything in the blender and strained it. it was Sooo perfect. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Crème Caramel

See how to make a fancy flan that’s creamy, sweet, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States