Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this flan yesterday and I loved it! I also have a problem with the regular flan consistency and I will have to say that this was wonderful. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is the first time I made this flan and it turned out great. First, I cooked the sugar in a saucepan and it did take a while to melt so you have to be patient. I read some of the review and warmed my 10 in cake pan in the oven but it still didn't give me enough time to coat the entire pan. I was a bit worried but proceeded to the next step. I then poured the mixture to the pan and cooked as directed. Next, I turned off the oven and left the flan sit in the oven for one hour to cool. I left it over night in the refrigerator. Finally, it was time to remove flan from pan. I ran my knife around the pan and flipped it over. I was greatly satisfied with the outcome and everyone loved it. Like another reviewer said even people who don't like flan will appreciate it. My whole family thought it was better than flan because it's a very creamy cheesecake texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I have made this many times for the parties and every time it was gone quickly. The minor change I made to this recipe is to use 4 ounce cream cheese so it's not too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Made this in my pressure cooker and it turned out beautifully. Put mixture in springform and covered tightly with foil. Placed in cooker on rack and added 2 cups of water to base of cooker. Brought to boil, put cooker lid on and brought to pressure. Once at pressure started timing for 10 minutes. At end of time, took cooker off heat and let pressure reduce naturally. Removed from cooker and put on wire rack to cool one hour, then refrigerated. Also have made successfully using aluminum cupcake liners inside baking pan placed in cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LissaNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristolville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This recipe was the first time I ever Tried flan. It is so AMAZING that whenever I've ordered it since then-to compare-THIS recipe is WAY better than anything in a restraunt! I wonder if its THIS AWSOME in Mexico??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I'm not gonna complain that this didn't taste like typical flan because I did expect something different, but I was a bit disappointed with the result. The flavours were nice but the flan was too dense for me. If it doesn't jiggle then it ain't flan! The cream cheese could be halved to help this. Also the caramel took me two attempts to get right and I normally don't have a problem making caramels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Delicious... one of my allstars favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This was a very sweet dessert that worked well with a Mexican-themed dinner. However, the some of the caramel stuck to the bottom of my pan instead of to the flan. The caramel was also really runny, but I may not have chilled it long enough (2 hours). It tasted very sweet, but was almost too rich for most people's tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
WONDERFUL and super easy!! However, I'm giving it only 3 stars because of the sugar situation. I'm reading that several others had the same problem with the sugar hardening immediately and then sticking when it was inverted. I followed the directions word for word and this still happened. So...it tasted so good that I'm willing to give it another try. I'm probably just going to sprinkle the pan with brown sugar and pour the filling over that. It should work...we shall see!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Dudley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I love this recipe! I have made this flan numerous times and it has always been a hit. To make things lighter, I use 1/3 less fat cream cheese and fat free condensed milk. Also! I had a slight pinch of cinnamon... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creepygiraffe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Crème Caramel

See how to make a fancy flan that’s creamy, sweet, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States