Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by sweetsuzie
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Awesome. Made it for a dinner party and everyone loved it. For caramel I melted in the cake pan I was baking flan in. Just put sugar in the cake pan and melted on stovetop. That way I didn't have to worry about transferring it. I used 8 inch cake pan which I'm glad I did because a 10 in one would have been too thin I think. I only used 4 oz of cream cheese so as to not get too much of a cheesecake taste. Again, glad I made this change. Baked for 40 min at 350 in water bath. After taking out of oven left flan in water bath on counter for an hour then refrigerated. Took out of fridge about 20 min before serving, and flipped onto serving plate. Awesome...see photo in my profile. Seriously looked and tasted unbelievable. Love this recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Everybody just simply love it and there is never a slice left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caramellover

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ::Annie::
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Delicious.... I only used half a package of cream cheese and left out the vanilla... Absolutely perfect...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ::Annie::

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
How to keep sugar melted--Just got back from El Salvador where a cook named "Paz" showed me how to make flan. Just make the recipe as stated but place pan holding flan in a shallow pan (broiler pan for example) with water. Doesn't have to be much--enough so the water doesn't evaporate. Paz called it a "Baño Maria".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Absolutely divine. Smoother texture than regular flan. Perfect flavor combo. Alternately good when caramel is omitted and topped with a dab of fresh whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this flan yesterday and I loved it! I also have a problem with the regular flan consistency and I will have to say that this was wonderful. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is the first time I made this flan and it turned out great. First, I cooked the sugar in a saucepan and it did take a while to melt so you have to be patient. I read some of the review and warmed my 10 in cake pan in the oven but it still didn't give me enough time to coat the entire pan. I was a bit worried but proceeded to the next step. I then poured the mixture to the pan and cooked as directed. Next, I turned off the oven and left the flan sit in the oven for one hour to cool. I left it over night in the refrigerator. Finally, it was time to remove flan from pan. I ran my knife around the pan and flipped it over. I was greatly satisfied with the outcome and everyone loved it. Like another reviewer said even people who don't like flan will appreciate it. My whole family thought it was better than flan because it's a very creamy cheesecake texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I have made this many times for the parties and every time it was gone quickly. The minor change I made to this recipe is to use 4 ounce cream cheese so it's not too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Made this in my pressure cooker and it turned out beautifully. Put mixture in springform and covered tightly with foil. Placed in cooker on rack and added 2 cups of water to base of cooker. Brought to boil, put cooker lid on and brought to pressure. Once at pressure started timing for 10 minutes. At end of time, took cooker off heat and let pressure reduce naturally. Removed from cooker and put on wire rack to cool one hour, then refrigerated. Also have made successfully using aluminum cupcake liners inside baking pan placed in cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LissaNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristolville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This recipe was the first time I ever Tried flan. It is so AMAZING that whenever I've ordered it since then-to compare-THIS recipe is WAY better than anything in a restraunt! I wonder if its THIS AWSOME in Mexico??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States