Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Super easy, DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This is my absolute favorite flan recipe. I followed another reviewers advice and put everything in a blender. I also make sure to warm up the pan in the oven so when I pour the melted sugar into it, the sugar doesn't immediately harden. I recommend you bake for at least 60 minutes as whenever I check after 50 minutes, the center is still a bit shaky/undone. Also, I tend to melt 1 1/4 cup sugar instead of 3/4 just because I like a lot of the carmel syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I am not a fan of flan, but this recipe was so easy to make and all my friends and family loved it. Heating the pie plate in the oven worked well to help spread the caramel on the bottom and sides of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This recipe is fabulous just as is. If prepared as suggested, there is NO problem with sugar, etc.. I make this in individual ramekins and reduce baking time by about 20-30 min. I then invert them (run a knife around edges to release) onto individual dessert plates and surround with fresh fruit. My guests think I have gone to so much trouble, and it is SO easy to make! Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This was REALLY creamy and smooth and absolutely perfect, AND it was the first time I've ever made flan, so I'm pretty happy. The sugar took forever to melt down. I think I was stirring it too much because once I left it alone for about a minute, it finally started to melt. So don't be afraid to turn the heat up a little if nothing is happening, and let it melt a little before you stir it. This was a little like a crustless flan-cheesecake. I have flan all the time in Mexican restaurants, and I always enjoy it, so when I made this flan, even though it was really yummy, I was a little disappointed because I like the original so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackieck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
First, this is not traditional flan, and doesn't taste like it at all. It's definitely much thicker and creamier, but maybe you'll like it that way. For a Mexican-themed party, I made 3 versions of flan: the traditional recipe I grew up with in Mexico, a traditional choco-flan recipe, and this recipe. The first was the biggest hit, and the other two were barely eaten. Again, this is very thick and cheesecakish, and though some might like it, I found myself wanting it to be EITHER a real cheesecake or a real flan. Not a fan of the in-between.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This turned out great! It looked very professional. I did panic a bit during the first step. I did heat my dish and sprayed with PAM prior to pouring the melted sugar in, but it didn't spread very well. I discovered that the worry was for nothing! when it bakes in the oven the sugar re melts and i turned out perfect. It seemed to cook quicker than an hour, it only seemed to take about 40 min. When I served it everyone cleaned there plates! even the person who stated that they don't like Flan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1234lisat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetsuzie
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Awesome. Made it for a dinner party and everyone loved it. For caramel I melted in the cake pan I was baking flan in. Just put sugar in the cake pan and melted on stovetop. That way I didn't have to worry about transferring it. I used 8 inch cake pan which I'm glad I did because a 10 in one would have been too thin I think. I only used 4 oz of cream cheese so as to not get too much of a cheesecake taste. Again, glad I made this change. Baked for 40 min at 350 in water bath. After taking out of oven left flan in water bath on counter for an hour then refrigerated. Took out of fridge about 20 min before serving, and flipped onto serving plate. Awesome...see photo in my profile. Seriously looked and tasted unbelievable. Love this recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Everybody just simply love it and there is never a slice left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caramellover

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ::Annie::
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Delicious.... I only used half a package of cream cheese and left out the vanilla... Absolutely perfect...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ::Annie::

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Crème Caramel

See how to make a fancy flan that’s creamy, sweet, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States