Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This was a beautiful dessert - very impressive looking! It came out of the pan easily and I made it the day before serving, which was convenient. For us, it took longer to cook than the directions stated. I should have followed the other reviewers suggestions and cut the cream cheese in 1/2. 8 oz cream cheese was a bit too much cream cheese flavor and heaviness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This was easy to make and very good even though I forgot the vanilla! Aside from that I follwed this recipe 100%. Don't fret about the carmel hardening so quickly after pouring in the pan because it liquifies as the flan sets up inthe refriderator. I had never made a recipe like this before. My husband and I both loved it! Will surely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Excellent! one thing i changed. my family likes caramel so i put 1 cup instead of 3/4 and what ever was left on the pan after i turned it i added a little bit of water to loosen it and it worked, as a refult all the caramel was used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aefrb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Super easy, DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This is my absolute favorite flan recipe. I followed another reviewers advice and put everything in a blender. I also make sure to warm up the pan in the oven so when I pour the melted sugar into it, the sugar doesn't immediately harden. I recommend you bake for at least 60 minutes as whenever I check after 50 minutes, the center is still a bit shaky/undone. Also, I tend to melt 1 1/4 cup sugar instead of 3/4 just because I like a lot of the carmel syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I am not a fan of flan, but this recipe was so easy to make and all my friends and family loved it. Heating the pie plate in the oven worked well to help spread the caramel on the bottom and sides of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This recipe is fabulous just as is. If prepared as suggested, there is NO problem with sugar, etc.. I make this in individual ramekins and reduce baking time by about 20-30 min. I then invert them (run a knife around edges to release) onto individual dessert plates and surround with fresh fruit. My guests think I have gone to so much trouble, and it is SO easy to make! Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This was REALLY creamy and smooth and absolutely perfect, AND it was the first time I've ever made flan, so I'm pretty happy. The sugar took forever to melt down. I think I was stirring it too much because once I left it alone for about a minute, it finally started to melt. So don't be afraid to turn the heat up a little if nothing is happening, and let it melt a little before you stir it. This was a little like a crustless flan-cheesecake. I have flan all the time in Mexican restaurants, and I always enjoy it, so when I made this flan, even though it was really yummy, I was a little disappointed because I like the original so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackieck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
First, this is not traditional flan, and doesn't taste like it at all. It's definitely much thicker and creamier, but maybe you'll like it that way. For a Mexican-themed party, I made 3 versions of flan: the traditional recipe I grew up with in Mexico, a traditional choco-flan recipe, and this recipe. The first was the biggest hit, and the other two were barely eaten. Again, this is very thick and cheesecakish, and though some might like it, I found myself wanting it to be EITHER a real cheesecake or a real flan. Not a fan of the in-between.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This turned out great! It looked very professional. I did panic a bit during the first step. I did heat my dish and sprayed with PAM prior to pouring the melted sugar in, but it didn't spread very well. I discovered that the worry was for nothing! when it bakes in the oven the sugar re melts and i turned out perfect. It seemed to cook quicker than an hour, it only seemed to take about 40 min. When I served it everyone cleaned there plates! even the person who stated that they don't like Flan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1234lisat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States