Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I make a Dukan friendly version of this, just the base - without the caramel coating, and it turns out perfect. Instead of condensed and evaporated milk, I use 5.5 cups (50 fluid ounce? almost 2 liters) of skimmed milk and 1.5 cups of sweetener, and I let the mixture steam over low heat until the liqid is halved, for almost an hour. For the rest I follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Wonderful recipe! I made this for my husband because he was really in the mood for flan. This recipe was very easy to make, and I plan on making again in the future. I plan on reducing the amount of cream cheese to just 4 oz though so it doesn't taste too much like cheesecake. :))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Yusuf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Severn, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Fantastic dessert! I made it a few times and each time it was great and a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Great recipe, it doesn't really taste like flan but more like cheesecake instead. Still quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARS822

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
great recipe! i would definitely at least double the sugar. one thing u can do is to make more sauce after it is finished since most of it sticks to the bottom of the pan when done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I made this as per the recipe and it turned out great. We had a family dinner for Mother's Day and it was a BIG HIT. Two things I will do next time: have custard cups ready and I might try the blender trick that another reviewer mentioned (put the batter in a blender as a last step before baking). I used my stand mixer and it turned out fine, but I thought it looked a little "grainy." I don't have a 10" round dish so I used an 8" Pyrex round dish, like for apple pie, and I had batter leftover. I quickly caramelized more sugar and put it and the batter into a couple of individual pyrex custard cups and baked as recipe instructs with water in the pan (no cloth though). Those worked great too. I heated my baking dishes in the microwave before putting the sugar in since it does harden quickly. But of course, as you bake it the sugar evens out anyway. It turned out perfectly with only a coating of sugar left in the baking dish but there was plenty on the flan so I didn't care. I served it with fresh sweetened strawberries and homemade whipped cream. Wonderful recipe! Thanks Jo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malbanese

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Easy. Everyone at work loved it. I did follow a reviewers suggestion, I cut the cream cheese to only 1/2 the package. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Great recipe! Although don't use a plastic spoon when making the caramel (duh!). On my second try I used a wooden spoon...it kinda burnt the spoon and the burn gave the caramel an almost alcoholic flavor. Other than that, everything set up perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jengogan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Delicious recipe. I was able to spread the carmelized sugar easily by setting the cake dish on a stove burner as I poured the mixture. Unfortunately, when I flipped the flan over half of it stuck to the cake dish and the presentation was ruined. It tasted awesome though. I had some left over filling that I put in a separate cooking dish that I sprayed with Pam cooking spray. I drizzled the carmel topping on the TOP of the cooled flan and it was delicious with a great presentation. The next time I make this dish I will do it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
My first attempt at Flan and what a success! Lots of compliments. It looked and tasted wonderful. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Hurricane, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States