Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This was very easy to make and it turned out great! I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This was extremely easy to make! I followed the directions exactly, except I used six ramekins instead of one round, and baked for about 35 minutes. The flavor is fantastic - not too eggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVISCOSTELLOFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LubbocKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I'm not quite sure how I feel about this recipe. I've made a lot of individual creme caramels, using heavy cream, eggs and sugar, and they always turned out silky smooth. This had a texture to it I can't quite describe; it may be that I baked it a smidge too long. I did what a lot of other users did, used only 4 ounces cream cheese, and used my blender to mix everything together. I let the blender run for quite a while. The caramel set up before I could coat the bottom and sides, but I knew that it would melt in the bain marie. I baked at 350* (convection) for exactly 50 minutes. The custard had browned on top and there was very little movement in the center. Had no trouble inverting the flan onto the platter, and the caramel covered it nicely. It tasted good - if I hadn't known there was cream cheese in it, I don't think I would have noticed it, but it just had this indescribable texture. I almost always use the convection feature on my oven because the temperature isn't calibrated quite right, but I think it was a mistake in this case. At any rate, it was super easy to make, and I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I make a Dukan friendly version of this, just the base - without the caramel coating, and it turns out perfect. Instead of condensed and evaporated milk, I use 5.5 cups (50 fluid ounce? almost 2 liters) of skimmed milk and 1.5 cups of sweetener, and I let the mixture steam over low heat until the liqid is halved, for almost an hour. For the rest I follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Wonderful recipe! I made this for my husband because he was really in the mood for flan. This recipe was very easy to make, and I plan on making again in the future. I plan on reducing the amount of cream cheese to just 4 oz though so it doesn't taste too much like cheesecake. :))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Yusuf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Severn, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Fantastic dessert! I made it a few times and each time it was great and a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Great recipe, it doesn't really taste like flan but more like cheesecake instead. Still quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARS822

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
great recipe! i would definitely at least double the sugar. one thing u can do is to make more sauce after it is finished since most of it sticks to the bottom of the pan when done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I made this as per the recipe and it turned out great. We had a family dinner for Mother's Day and it was a BIG HIT. Two things I will do next time: have custard cups ready and I might try the blender trick that another reviewer mentioned (put the batter in a blender as a last step before baking). I used my stand mixer and it turned out fine, but I thought it looked a little "grainy." I don't have a 10" round dish so I used an 8" Pyrex round dish, like for apple pie, and I had batter leftover. I quickly caramelized more sugar and put it and the batter into a couple of individual pyrex custard cups and baked as recipe instructs with water in the pan (no cloth though). Those worked great too. I heated my baking dishes in the microwave before putting the sugar in since it does harden quickly. But of course, as you bake it the sugar evens out anyway. It turned out perfectly with only a coating of sugar left in the baking dish but there was plenty on the flan so I didn't care. I served it with fresh sweetened strawberries and homemade whipped cream. Wonderful recipe! Thanks Jo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malbanese

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 498) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Crème Caramel

See how to make a fancy flan that’s creamy, sweet, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States