Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
just made this for a dinner party, and everyone loved it...and as everyone else says, even those who aren't flan lovers were fans. used 1 cup of sugar since a fair amount stays stuck to the bottom of the pan. also took the suggestion to warm the dish in the oven for a few minutes first, so the sugar doesn't harden immediately upon contact. not the most amazing dessert i've ever had, but effort vs. result definitely warrants 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
It was great but i had problems with the sugar. I've done it before with only 3 eggs and no sugar coating. I advise you to do the same if this is your first one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Everyone who eats this is always impressed by how delicious it is! Make sure to soften the cream cheese for a few hours; it will mix into the rest of the liquid more easily. Beat the mix for a few minutes to make sure the cream cheese doesn't float in little chunks to the top. Also, I usually use 1-1 1/2 cups of white sugar for the topping. More is always better. An amazing, delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by racheal.colleen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This was very easy to make and it turned out great! I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This was extremely easy to make! I followed the directions exactly, except I used six ramekins instead of one round, and baked for about 35 minutes. The flavor is fantastic - not too eggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVISCOSTELLOFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LubbocKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I'm not quite sure how I feel about this recipe. I've made a lot of individual creme caramels, using heavy cream, eggs and sugar, and they always turned out silky smooth. This had a texture to it I can't quite describe; it may be that I baked it a smidge too long. I did what a lot of other users did, used only 4 ounces cream cheese, and used my blender to mix everything together. I let the blender run for quite a while. The caramel set up before I could coat the bottom and sides, but I knew that it would melt in the bain marie. I baked at 350* (convection) for exactly 50 minutes. The custard had browned on top and there was very little movement in the center. Had no trouble inverting the flan onto the platter, and the caramel covered it nicely. It tasted good - if I hadn't known there was cream cheese in it, I don't think I would have noticed it, but it just had this indescribable texture. I almost always use the convection feature on my oven because the temperature isn't calibrated quite right, but I think it was a mistake in this case. At any rate, it was super easy to make, and I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I make a Dukan friendly version of this, just the base - without the caramel coating, and it turns out perfect. Instead of condensed and evaporated milk, I use 5.5 cups (50 fluid ounce? almost 2 liters) of skimmed milk and 1.5 cups of sweetener, and I let the mixture steam over low heat until the liqid is halved, for almost an hour. For the rest I follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Wonderful recipe! I made this for my husband because he was really in the mood for flan. This recipe was very easy to make, and I plan on making again in the future. I plan on reducing the amount of cream cheese to just 4 oz though so it doesn't taste too much like cheesecake. :))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Yusuf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Severn, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Fantastic dessert! I made it a few times and each time it was great and a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Crème Caramel

See how to make a fancy flan that’s creamy, sweet, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States