Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I'll give this recipe two stars only because it wasn't the worst thing I've ever tasted. It looked easy so I thought I'd give it a try for a small dinner party. It took me two tries to make the melted sugar layer, by finally taking the advise of another reviewer who suggested putting the baking pan in the oven for a few minutes so that the sugar doesn't harden as soon as it touches the pan. That worked much better. Then I followed the directions exactly. The next day I unmolded the flan and it looked gorgeous, but everyone who tasted it said it was too heavy or too much like cheesecake and the day after that it seemed even more thick and dense. Next time I will stick with a different recipe that is more like traditional flan, lighter and more custard like. If the name of the recipe was "Cheesecake Flan", then it would make more sense to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Perfection. No need to say anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I have used this same recipe for years when I make the cream cheese version of flan. When we place the pan in water it is called baño de maria. Ensures it stays creamy and thick! Delicious and perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This is a great recipe! The flovor is even better than yu find in Mexican restaurants. I top the flan with fresh blueberries and strawberries then I pour on the caramel. I only have a 9" pie pan so I have to make it in two batches. The two batches work out well because we eat one flan warm and let the other chill over night. It is a big hit with the husband and the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
just made this for a dinner party, and everyone loved it...and as everyone else says, even those who aren't flan lovers were fans. used 1 cup of sugar since a fair amount stays stuck to the bottom of the pan. also took the suggestion to warm the dish in the oven for a few minutes first, so the sugar doesn't harden immediately upon contact. not the most amazing dessert i've ever had, but effort vs. result definitely warrants 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
It was great but i had problems with the sugar. I've done it before with only 3 eggs and no sugar coating. I advise you to do the same if this is your first one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Everyone who eats this is always impressed by how delicious it is! Make sure to soften the cream cheese for a few hours; it will mix into the rest of the liquid more easily. Beat the mix for a few minutes to make sure the cream cheese doesn't float in little chunks to the top. Also, I usually use 1-1 1/2 cups of white sugar for the topping. More is always better. An amazing, delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by racheal.colleen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This was very easy to make and it turned out great! I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This was extremely easy to make! I followed the directions exactly, except I used six ramekins instead of one round, and baked for about 35 minutes. The flavor is fantastic - not too eggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVISCOSTELLOFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LubbocKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 495) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States