Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I absolutely love this flan, it is creamy and smooth. I do however have some warnings. First, The only way you will get a creamy consistency is by using a blender, DO NOT use a mixer because it will not blend the cream cheese well, what you will be left with is a clumpy mess. Lastly, the longer you leave it in the fridge, the tastier it will be. For this dessert time is essential, the longer you leave it, the creamier it will be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I made this for a work luncheon and everyone who tried it went back for more! I got die-hard Flan-haters to even sample, then rave :) I took the advice of another reviewer and didn't worry too much about coating the pan with the sugar mix "evenly". It turned out coated well with caramel sauce even though I missed some spots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Ann White

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pima, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I made this yesterday. Easy enough to make I guess. BUT, we were very disappointed in the end result. It was more like cheesecake then custard. I was looking for a moer silky feel. I guess next time I will just do regular flan......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This is an excellent flan. I've made this for a couple of get-togethers now and people love it and ask for the recipe. Make it faster: after coating the dish with the carmelized sugar, simply use your blender for a few seconds to blend the other ingredients, pour into pan, and proceed as usual. Blenderizing doesn't change the texture at all and saves time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I absolutely love this recipe. I've made it three times. Once, I took it out too early (it had baked for the full 60 min, but still wiggled too much) and it never set up, but it was still a delicious custard. I'd recommend using a touch/firmness test rather than going exclusively by the clock. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASIAKAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kelso_707
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This was my first time ever making Flan and it turned out perfect! I read some reviews saying that their carmel hardened to quickly and they didnt get to spread around in the pan much. I warmed my pan up a little bit then pour in the carmel, but it still hardened pretty quickly. But that was ok because by the end result it was perfect. This recipe was easy to follow and I will be using it again! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Sooo creamy! I made one for my bf's family and they had thought I bought it. First time making flan and I'm glad I decided on this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina Peña Sarabia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soly
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I made extra sugar caramel for mine....loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Fabulous result. Quick and easy to make. I had 12 friends over for Mexican Independence day. This was polished off in no time. Definitely my new go-to desert for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
fantastic! I've never been a huge fan of traditional flan, but the cream cheese in this puts it over the top. I've already had ppl ask for the recipe. I used brown sugar, butter, and half and half for the caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Crème Caramel

See how to make a fancy flan that’s creamy, sweet, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States