Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I just put it in the oven. What a mess. I guess 10" baking dish does not mean a 10" pie dish; what size eggs? The caramel is so hard I'm afraid someone will break their teeth. Hope it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Make this recipe all the time! It is awesome. Always get request to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time, two weeks ago and it came out perfect! Everyone loved it, and I am making another one right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I made this recipe and had GREAT TROUBLE with the sugar/caramel part. I saw, as I just looked through, that you have a good article on making caramel, but I was unable to copy or put those instuctions into my recipe file or to print the various ways make the caramel. Would you either e-mail the instuctions or tell me how to copy your article. Tonika. arnold6297@cox.net
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Delicious. I prefer the less eggey consistency of this flan. I did not have any problems with the caramel. I also sprayed PAM on my pan, which might have helped. Either way, the caramel will breakdown in the fridge and become a sauce, so don't worry if you have problems. I used a 9" cake pan. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
So delicious! Brought it to a work potluck, and my coworkers loved it. A few mentioned that they liked it better than the traditional (read: eggy) flan. I used the ingredients as listed; even though I had read the reviews about using a blender, I thought, "Surely my trusty Kitchenaid mixer will make it smooth." Nope ... I ended up pouring it into my blender;. the cream cheese would not blend in otherwise. I realized when I was pouring the custard into my pan that it was too small, so I made one 8" and two little custard cups. I will buy a 10" round pan just to be able to make this again! A delicious and beautiful dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheriw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
To those who get concerned about the caramel going hard immediately after it's poured... don't worry about it. Leave it like that, pour the flan mixture and bake... the water and the heat takes care of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This is EXACTLY the thick flan recipe I was looking for! I had an amazing special flan dessert in a Tex-Mex restaurant called "El Jarrito" in Katy, TX. Their flan was thick, almost as thick as a cheesecake, but soft and creamy. This was over 5 years ago and I still remember how great it tasted and loved its texture. This recipe is just like what I had - I'm so glad you wrote that this flan was a cross between an egg custard and cheesecake because that's exactly what it is. Thank you, Jo, posting this recipe - it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherry_vinigrette

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Wonderful recipe! First time making it and it was great! Yes, when I made the caramel and put into pan, I had to work quickly with a spatula to spread around as much as possible because it does harden up quickly! But it's OK...when it bakes, it'll become juicy. After I flipped it out of the pan, there was still some hardened caramel in the pan, but I just stuck the pan in boiling water to remove and it worked great. I actually used a 9" pan instead of 10 (was all I had) and that worked just fine as well. It set up nice, flipped out nice and overall, looked wonderful. Everyone loved it! Will definitely make again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Delicious! The flan I normally make doesn't contain cream cheese but is very similar so I tweaked a bit. I used Neufchatel cheese instead of cream cheese and covered the baking dish with aluminum foil. I also used fat free evaporated milk and 1 cup of sugar for more syrup and it came out fantastic. The cheese actually helps balance out the sweetness and makes it extra rich and creamy. I'm definitely making this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 498) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States