Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This was delicious and I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This is the exact way I learned to do them back in PR. I've been making this Flan for years now and when we have a desert auction at the office this is a favorite. My last flan sold for $80!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ortizimo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This recipe is almost identical to the flan napolitano recipe my friend from Mexico City gave me. The only differences were that she used 5 eggs and no vanilla, so I compromised and used 5 eggs with your recipe and kept in the vanilla. First time I did this it turned out great. It was helpful to read the reviews regarding the sugar part, as it is a new technique for many. The second time I made this all of my caramel didn't liquify, but I believe that was due to a) using a bundt pan with deep wells and b) making twice the amount of caramel. I tried making more caramel because it's so delicious, and I can't seem to find any caramel recipe to make extra caramel for this flan that tastes as good. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sundog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lake Elmo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Don't need the vanilla extract unless you want it super sweet tasting! Was an excellent recipe, otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
The camelized sugar makes a nice presentation, but it really doesn't have any caramel flavor. If I make this again, I will make my homemade caramel sauce (carmelize sugar in water, then mix with half & half or whipping cream), and drizzle the sauce over each serving. This recipe is very easy, but I was a bit dissapointed with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHAEL JACKSON
Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I loved this flan!!! I was disappointed that only my daughter loved this, but boys are quirky anyways when it comes to sweets, so I tried to not care too much. I followed the recipe to a T, did not make any changes and the result was total yummy creamy caramel flan perfection. If you like flan, you will love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Exactly what I expected. I was a little nervous about flipping it over after reading some of the reviews but mine came out perfect. I just followed the directions as they are. It's like a Leche Flan but thicker but not as thick as cheesecake. I'm not a big cheesecake fan so I was a bit nervous it would be too heavy but it's not. It's just right. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Im 15 and I made it myself, and it turned out perfectly. The only thing is I needed more melted sugar, just like and extra 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This flan was the BEST! You can't taste the cream cheese very much at all, which was something that I was worried about. It just adds a dense, creamy texture and cuts the "egginess" that flans sometimes have. This will now be my flan recipe! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Only reason I gave this 4 stars is because I didn't like it but I think that is my taste buds not liking flan. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States