Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
My husband being from Spain and my Mother in Law a wonderful cook, I was skeptical about making this. But WOW!! The best compliment I can give is that I have been told by my Father in Law that it is the best he has ever had. I work with many Cubans and they laugh at how the "Gringa" can make Flan better than any Spanish decendent they know. Thanks!! I make about 12 of these each holiday for family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I guess I'm kind of a purist. The taste and texture of the custard and the cheesecake mixed just wasn't good to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
it lived up to the description and was surprisingly easy to make. I think i would lighten up on the cream cheese just a little bit. this is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
i followed this recipe and had no problems. my carmel sugar did harden quickly but after thinking about i realized it was going to melt in the heat of the oven and should be fine. (i did end up greasing the sides of the pan that didn't carmel with butter to make sure it wouldn't stick.) i had no problems getting it out either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee'

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This was delicious and I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This is the exact way I learned to do them back in PR. I've been making this Flan for years now and when we have a desert auction at the office this is a favorite. My last flan sold for $80!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ortizimo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This recipe is almost identical to the flan napolitano recipe my friend from Mexico City gave me. The only differences were that she used 5 eggs and no vanilla, so I compromised and used 5 eggs with your recipe and kept in the vanilla. First time I did this it turned out great. It was helpful to read the reviews regarding the sugar part, as it is a new technique for many. The second time I made this all of my caramel didn't liquify, but I believe that was due to a) using a bundt pan with deep wells and b) making twice the amount of caramel. I tried making more caramel because it's so delicious, and I can't seem to find any caramel recipe to make extra caramel for this flan that tastes as good. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sundog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lake Elmo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Don't need the vanilla extract unless you want it super sweet tasting! Was an excellent recipe, otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
The camelized sugar makes a nice presentation, but it really doesn't have any caramel flavor. If I make this again, I will make my homemade caramel sauce (carmelize sugar in water, then mix with half & half or whipping cream), and drizzle the sauce over each serving. This recipe is very easy, but I was a bit dissapointed with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHAEL JACKSON
Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I loved this flan!!! I was disappointed that only my daughter loved this, but boys are quirky anyways when it comes to sweets, so I tried to not care too much. I followed the recipe to a T, did not make any changes and the result was total yummy creamy caramel flan perfection. If you like flan, you will love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 498) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Crème Caramel

See how to make a fancy flan that’s creamy, sweet, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States