Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
i love this recipe and i have been making flan for about 9 years using my own recipe and its just like this one except i add a splash of liquor and another splash of 2% milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I am no baker...Never ate/made this before...loved it!!! Its something different for dessert and came out great...heating the pan before coating with melted sugar was important for my non baking self and I also added a coffee liquor to sugar/carmel combo during reduction...great recipe and directions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Great, easy recipe for my first attempt at flan. I had no problem unmolding it by following directions I found online - remove from refrigerator 20 minutes prior to serving, run a sharp knife around the edge, invert serving platter on top of flan, then turn over. It came out nicely. And as the instructions said, some of the caramel is going to remain hardened in the bottom, but you still get a lot of the sauce coming out - spoon more on top of it. The third step in this recipe should really be to start a pot of water boiling. I ended up with all my ingredients ready to go, then had to start a pot of water. Also, it worked just fine by putting everything into the blender. It was smooth, creamy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This is a good recipe, but it assumes that everyone knows how to caramelize sugar...and the directions aren't EXACTLY correct. When making the caramelized sugar, I add two tablespoons of water and a drop of lemon juice. Then stir ONLY UNTIL the mixture starts to boil...after that...don't touch it. Some processess will say that you can 'swirel' the mixture but don't. And the temperature depends on your electric stove top...mine requires almost a Medium temperature. I added in the zest of 3 limes...fantastic...but don't read this caramelized sugar at face value. If you unfamiliar with the process, then look it up on the internet. To follow these directions as written will only cause you multiple problems. Otherwise...a tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This flan was very simple to prepare, but it was just a little too thick for my taste. I was wanting more of a "custard-like" consistency, but this turned out pretty solid and sticky. It still had great flavor and since it was so easy, I'll probably make it again while I keep looking for the perfect recipe that is more like a custard-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail White

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Made two my first time ever two days ago - what a hit! I followed the suggested caramel recipe of: 1 (16oz) box brown sugar, 1 stick butter, 1 cup half and half, pinch of salt, 1 tsp. vanilla, boil 3 minutes then remove from heat - the BEST caramel I have ever tasted - I was licking the sauce pot afterwards! Followed the recipe for the flan, however I used two deep-dish pie plates and split the caramel and the custard between both plates. This made a thin flan, but it is so rich and creamy that it was a perfect after-dinner treat. Easy easy easy..... and everyone who's had it has begged me to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jersey_Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I guess I was expecting flan. The end result is a cheesecake. It is not like flan at all, the title is misleading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kadieroo83
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is a tasty twist to a traditional flan. If you don't like the consistency of traditional flan, but enjoy cheesecake, this is the flan for you. I found the carmel topping easy, but would make it after mixing the flan ingredients. Also, making sure you have your flan pan set up in the roasting pan, and a easy pouring spout for your boiling water is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
My husband being from Spain and my Mother in Law a wonderful cook, I was skeptical about making this. But WOW!! The best compliment I can give is that I have been told by my Father in Law that it is the best he has ever had. I work with many Cubans and they laugh at how the "Gringa" can make Flan better than any Spanish decendent they know. Thanks!! I make about 12 of these each holiday for family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I guess I'm kind of a purist. The taste and texture of the custard and the cheesecake mixed just wasn't good to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 496) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States