Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
It was great. I learned not to pour the hot sugar in to a cold glass pie pan....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Midnight_Blaze

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Per the other reviews, the texture of this flan is much more akin to a cheesecake. I also failed to heat the baking dish before adding the caramelized sugar, but it distributed just fine after the flan was baked. I added a teaspoon of cinnamon, and several people commented that it was reminiscent of pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I made this for a party and my guests loved it. Even my mother who says she doesn't usually like Flan ate it and enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julecook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
i love this recipe and i have been making flan for about 9 years using my own recipe and its just like this one except i add a splash of liquor and another splash of 2% milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I am no baker...Never ate/made this before...loved it!!! Its something different for dessert and came out great...heating the pan before coating with melted sugar was important for my non baking self and I also added a coffee liquor to sugar/carmel combo during reduction...great recipe and directions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Great, easy recipe for my first attempt at flan. I had no problem unmolding it by following directions I found online - remove from refrigerator 20 minutes prior to serving, run a sharp knife around the edge, invert serving platter on top of flan, then turn over. It came out nicely. And as the instructions said, some of the caramel is going to remain hardened in the bottom, but you still get a lot of the sauce coming out - spoon more on top of it. The third step in this recipe should really be to start a pot of water boiling. I ended up with all my ingredients ready to go, then had to start a pot of water. Also, it worked just fine by putting everything into the blender. It was smooth, creamy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This is a good recipe, but it assumes that everyone knows how to caramelize sugar...and the directions aren't EXACTLY correct. When making the caramelized sugar, I add two tablespoons of water and a drop of lemon juice. Then stir ONLY UNTIL the mixture starts to boil...after that...don't touch it. Some processess will say that you can 'swirel' the mixture but don't. And the temperature depends on your electric stove top...mine requires almost a Medium temperature. I added in the zest of 3 limes...fantastic...but don't read this caramelized sugar at face value. If you unfamiliar with the process, then look it up on the internet. To follow these directions as written will only cause you multiple problems. Otherwise...a tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This flan was very simple to prepare, but it was just a little too thick for my taste. I was wanting more of a "custard-like" consistency, but this turned out pretty solid and sticky. It still had great flavor and since it was so easy, I'll probably make it again while I keep looking for the perfect recipe that is more like a custard-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail White

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Made two my first time ever two days ago - what a hit! I followed the suggested caramel recipe of: 1 (16oz) box brown sugar, 1 stick butter, 1 cup half and half, pinch of salt, 1 tsp. vanilla, boil 3 minutes then remove from heat - the BEST caramel I have ever tasted - I was licking the sauce pot afterwards! Followed the recipe for the flan, however I used two deep-dish pie plates and split the caramel and the custard between both plates. This made a thin flan, but it is so rich and creamy that it was a perfect after-dinner treat. Easy easy easy..... and everyone who's had it has begged me to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley BG

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I guess I was expecting flan. The end result is a cheesecake. It is not like flan at all, the title is misleading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kadieroo83

Displaying results 131-140 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Crème Caramel

See how to make a fancy flan that’s creamy, sweet, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States