Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by FOODGU1
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I've been on a quest to find the ultimate flan; this is probably the fifth recipe I've tried and hands down, it has the best taste, reminding me of leche flan. It's sweet and didn't taste too eggy (some taste like a dessert omelette). I expected it to be rich and creamy from the description but next time will reduce the cream cheese by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
It turned out really good but next time i'll only use 4 oz. of cream cheese. I had to do the sugar twice to get it right because it turned rock hard but the next day it was perfect. Actually I did'nt wait until the next day before digging in. Very rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This is delicious as is. It is really creamy if you are careful not to overcook it. Mix ingredients in a blender and pour through a strainer over carmelized sugar. That will get out any cream cheese chunks you might have missed. I used light cream cheese (Neufchatel) all the time and you can't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
WOW..I LOVED this recipe so do my husband and my friends, I can eat a whole flan all by myself. I made this morning and had it after dinner about 8 hours in the fridge.Blended all ingredients in the blender to make it fast and smooth and not messy. I had no problem with the caramel sauce, it turn out great..I used 1 cup instead of 3/4 cup and heat it in a sauce pan for medium low heat about 25 mins, be patient, don't stir, but you can swirls, I did not used a towel and bake it for about 1 hour and let it cool in the water bath about an hour before you put in the fridge. I will make this again..LOVED IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
To be honest I haven't tried this yet but it sounds very much like one I have made before. I did want to give a TIP: rather than using white sugar use natural cane sugar. By using this sugar you don't need to wait for the sugar to brown to get the coloring you need for a traditional flan. Just cook the sugar enough for it to liquefy and poor it into your baking dish. I hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Loved it, simple and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Baucom
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This is possibly the best flan I've ever had, and it was so easy to make. You don't really need to tilt the pan to coat the sides with the caramel, as it will spread while it cooks. I can already tell I'm going to be making this frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Baucom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
AMAZING!!! And I have all you ladies and your reviews to thank as well. I am no cook and rely heavily on this website to make dinner. This flan was delish!! I used all room temp ingredients, blender and the other caramel recipe mentioned. Superb!!! I was the hit of the party. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This recipe is perfect! I did not change a thing about it. If you hate the gelatin type flan and love the rich creamy type of flan... this is the recipe you are looking for! The only thing I would reccommend is make sure the cream cheese is soft and mixes entirely with the other ingredients. My cream cheese was not mixed thoroughly and there were a few small chunks. Still delicious though! Next time I will just mix long and start with very soft cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This flan has a really good flavor but was a little to cheese cake like for me to call a flan. I prefer the custard texture and flavor myself. Over all though, I thought it was really good and if I were in the mood for a caramel cheesecake this is where I would come. A note with the sugar glaze: I have done flans with and with out that. I prefer with. I like the burnt sugar flavor but it also works really well with just caramel ice cream topping pored in the bottom of your pan. It is not as rich a flavor but good anyway. If you do a flan with the ice cream topping be careful poring in the custard filling as it will stir up the caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Crème Caramel

See how to make a fancy flan that’s creamy, sweet, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States