Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I made this recipe once. I made it in 8 individual flan dishes. The taste and texture were fantastic. My man loved it, as did our guests. I'd give this recipe 5 stars if the caramel didn't stick to the flan dish. ***** Okay, I made this recipe one more time. This time I added water to the sugar to make my caramel. It was easier to control. The sugar syrup slowly boiled away and turned into a beautiful caramel. This time I also cooked the flans in a microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Little Pixie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
this is the best flan EVER! All of the caramel didnt come out of the pan though. I dont know if I did something wrong but it was delicious anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Super easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Basseterre, Saint George Basseterre, Saint Kitts And Nevis
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I'm not much of a cook but this dish was simple and DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Although this recipe was really good, we prefer a more of a custard texture. This was almost like a cheese cake. We did eat it all and licked our lips!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great! Thick and creamy with the perfect amount of caramel.The only thing I didn't do is chill it for 8 hours. I waited about 4 and it came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
So good and so easy. My mother-in-law raved that this may have been the most delicious Flan she ever had. I was happy for my first time making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by db

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
this was my first time making this, I was a little intimidated, even though I do cook/bake a fair bit. but it was surprising not complicated at all and I served it to friends at a Mexican dinner party and everyone loved it! I will definitely be making this again. one of the best desserts I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I think just about everybody liked this one.......me too! It really is more like cheesecake in texture than traditional flan, but it isn't nearly so 'eggy' tasting either. YUM! OK.......the second time I made this I just used a 3 oz. pkg of cream cheese and found the consistency to be more like a traditional flan. Tried adding a tad of water to the sugar for the carmelizing step as somebody suggested. Can't say that it helped at all.....it had to boil off before the sugar could dissolve. Won't do that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
To the lady whose caramel stuck to the pan so that she had hardly any on the flan, next time use a round cake pan that has the gizmo on it you turn around to loosen/scrape the cake pan. Most pans come this way. Hope this helps. Great dessert !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Crème Caramel

See how to make a fancy flan that’s creamy, sweet, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States