Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
this was my first time making this, I was a little intimidated, even though I do cook/bake a fair bit. but it was surprising not complicated at all and I served it to friends at a Mexican dinner party and everyone loved it! I will definitely be making this again. one of the best desserts I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I think just about everybody liked this one.......me too! It really is more like cheesecake in texture than traditional flan, but it isn't nearly so 'eggy' tasting either. YUM! OK.......the second time I made this I just used a 3 oz. pkg of cream cheese and found the consistency to be more like a traditional flan. Tried adding a tad of water to the sugar for the carmelizing step as somebody suggested. Can't say that it helped at all.....it had to boil off before the sugar could dissolve. Won't do that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
To the lady whose caramel stuck to the pan so that she had hardly any on the flan, next time use a round cake pan that has the gizmo on it you turn around to loosen/scrape the cake pan. Most pans come this way. Hope this helps. Great dessert !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FOODGU1
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I've been on a quest to find the ultimate flan; this is probably the fifth recipe I've tried and hands down, it has the best taste, reminding me of leche flan. It's sweet and didn't taste too eggy (some taste like a dessert omelette). I expected it to be rich and creamy from the description but next time will reduce the cream cheese by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
It turned out really good but next time i'll only use 4 oz. of cream cheese. I had to do the sugar twice to get it right because it turned rock hard but the next day it was perfect. Actually I did'nt wait until the next day before digging in. Very rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This is delicious as is. It is really creamy if you are careful not to overcook it. Mix ingredients in a blender and pour through a strainer over carmelized sugar. That will get out any cream cheese chunks you might have missed. I used light cream cheese (Neufchatel) all the time and you can't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
WOW..I LOVED this recipe so do my husband and my friends, I can eat a whole flan all by myself. I made this morning and had it after dinner about 8 hours in the fridge.Blended all ingredients in the blender to make it fast and smooth and not messy. I had no problem with the caramel sauce, it turn out great..I used 1 cup instead of 3/4 cup and heat it in a sauce pan for medium low heat about 25 mins, be patient, don't stir, but you can swirls, I did not used a towel and bake it for about 1 hour and let it cool in the water bath about an hour before you put in the fridge. I will make this again..LOVED IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
To be honest I haven't tried this yet but it sounds very much like one I have made before. I did want to give a TIP: rather than using white sugar use natural cane sugar. By using this sugar you don't need to wait for the sugar to brown to get the coloring you need for a traditional flan. Just cook the sugar enough for it to liquefy and poor it into your baking dish. I hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Loved it, simple and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Baucom
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This is possibly the best flan I've ever had, and it was so easy to make. You don't really need to tilt the pan to coat the sides with the caramel, as it will spread while it cooks. I can already tell I'm going to be making this frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Baucom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States