Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I'm not much of a cook but this dish was simple and DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Although this recipe was really good, we prefer a more of a custard texture. This was almost like a cheese cake. We did eat it all and licked our lips!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great! Thick and creamy with the perfect amount of caramel.The only thing I didn't do is chill it for 8 hours. I waited about 4 and it came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
So good and so easy. My mother-in-law raved that this may have been the most delicious Flan she ever had. I was happy for my first time making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by db

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
this was my first time making this, I was a little intimidated, even though I do cook/bake a fair bit. but it was surprising not complicated at all and I served it to friends at a Mexican dinner party and everyone loved it! I will definitely be making this again. one of the best desserts I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I think just about everybody liked this one.......me too! It really is more like cheesecake in texture than traditional flan, but it isn't nearly so 'eggy' tasting either. YUM! OK.......the second time I made this I just used a 3 oz. pkg of cream cheese and found the consistency to be more like a traditional flan. Tried adding a tad of water to the sugar for the carmelizing step as somebody suggested. Can't say that it helped at all.....it had to boil off before the sugar could dissolve. Won't do that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
To the lady whose caramel stuck to the pan so that she had hardly any on the flan, next time use a round cake pan that has the gizmo on it you turn around to loosen/scrape the cake pan. Most pans come this way. Hope this helps. Great dessert !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FOODGU1
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I've been on a quest to find the ultimate flan; this is probably the fifth recipe I've tried and hands down, it has the best taste, reminding me of leche flan. It's sweet and didn't taste too eggy (some taste like a dessert omelette). I expected it to be rich and creamy from the description but next time will reduce the cream cheese by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
It turned out really good but next time i'll only use 4 oz. of cream cheese. I had to do the sugar twice to get it right because it turned rock hard but the next day it was perfect. Actually I did'nt wait until the next day before digging in. Very rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This is delicious as is. It is really creamy if you are careful not to overcook it. Mix ingredients in a blender and pour through a strainer over carmelized sugar. That will get out any cream cheese chunks you might have missed. I used light cream cheese (Neufchatel) all the time and you can't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 498) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Crème Caramel

See how to make a fancy flan that’s creamy, sweet, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States