Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Yet another delicious recipe at allrecipes.com. This was the first flan I made and have used this particular recipes several times. This is definitely just as good as the flan you get at a restaurant. It's moderately easy, a little tricky if you've never made flan before, you just have to pay attention though. Thank you much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarmensMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Cream cheese-based flans are typically less popular in Latin countries, but I believe if enough people foisted this recipe on friends and family all over the world, we would never hear of the regular run-of-the-mill flan ever again. You can't do better than this recipe, but if you wanted an even creamier consistency, use 5 jumbo-sized eggs (this recipe doesn't include the recommended size of the egg), removing the egg white from one (if not two) of the eggs. When cooking the sugar, remember that it will continue to cook for a while after you've taken the saucepan off the flame. If you're worried about the sugar burning, take it off the flame when there's still a few clumps of sugar waiting to dissolve. To those perplexed by the amount of sugar that remains stuck to the pan when turning over the flan...don't be afraid to experiment: Chip away at the sugar and dump it into a bowl and crush the sugar into bits, after which you can sprinkle it atop the flan. (Or place the sugar, in shards, around the flan; people, trust me, will love munching on it.) Also, I find that using a disposable aluminum pan produces significantly tastier results. That said, aluminum pans are rare in 10-inch sizes, so what I do is make two little flans (with the excess batter) in two small creme brulee dishes, letting them cook next to the bigger flan in the water bath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This is an easy recipe which can be made the day ahead. I made it in 8 ramekin dishes which I greased first. The second time I made this recipe, I added a bit of butter to the sugar which seemed to speed up the melting process with no adverse effects. Very delicious and rich dessert which was enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Very good. Once you get past caramelizing the sugar (time and patience), it is very easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This was my first flan I have ever made. It was amazing! I made it for my dad on Father's Day. Our whole family loved it. It was very creamy and the caramel was lovely. When I first started making the caramel I thought it wouldn't work because it hardened so much. All my worrying was for nothing because the next day I flipped it over and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Never made flan ever, turned out great!!! My husband said I WILL be making this again. I'm gonna try this in the blender with some coconut or pineapple for something diff. Will keep you updated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
For I Need Help. The sauce needs to be warm for it to run all over the flan. You cannot refrigerate. It needs to be served shortly after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Im new to cooking and was just hoping for this to turn out ok. It turned out to be great !!! Everyone loved it. I couldnt really taste the cream cheese but it could be because I only used 3/4 of a package. Either way it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I can't say enough about this recipe! It was very easy to make, I didn't have any trouble caramelizing the sugar and the flan didn't stick to the pan. It was a huge hit, so rich and creamy. I would name it cheesecake flan because it tastes like flan with the creamyness of cheesecake. Only tip would be to make sure to pour the filling through a sieve to catch the small pieces of cream cheese. Also, it's a must to warm your dish/pan before pouring in the sugar. You'll love this recipe as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly but I must have done something wrong because it did not turn out for me. It looks good but the texture is kind of grainy, without being grainy if that makes any sense -nothing like cheesecake like I expected after reading the reviews. We didn't care for the flavor much either. Not sure what went wrong here. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States