Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Got curious about this so I wanted to give this a shot since I've never tried a flan with cream cheese. I followed it exactly and the outcome was a bit strange and gave me flash backs when I made a japanese cheesecake once and turned out to be a total failure. The creaminess? It wasn't creamy as I was hoping for; the texture was more of a wet spongy cheesecake. The only good side to this was that I tasted the actual sweet caramel flan taste that's why I rated average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Takako
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Made this flan for a picnic. Received lots of compliment. I baked for 55 minutes, but it may have been better if a bit shorter. The edge came out a bit hard. The taste and the texture were excellent. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Takako
Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Los Altos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Good, but it was difficult to get the sugar caramelized. It also turned out a little dry. I have a feeling the results were because of me, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lolyla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. I've never made flan before but am pleased to say my husband thought it was great and i will be making it again soon i'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Yet another delicious recipe at allrecipes.com. This was the first flan I made and have used this particular recipes several times. This is definitely just as good as the flan you get at a restaurant. It's moderately easy, a little tricky if you've never made flan before, you just have to pay attention though. Thank you much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarmensMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Cream cheese-based flans are typically less popular in Latin countries, but I believe if enough people foisted this recipe on friends and family all over the world, we would never hear of the regular run-of-the-mill flan ever again. You can't do better than this recipe, but if you wanted an even creamier consistency, use 5 jumbo-sized eggs (this recipe doesn't include the recommended size of the egg), removing the egg white from one (if not two) of the eggs. When cooking the sugar, remember that it will continue to cook for a while after you've taken the saucepan off the flame. If you're worried about the sugar burning, take it off the flame when there's still a few clumps of sugar waiting to dissolve. To those perplexed by the amount of sugar that remains stuck to the pan when turning over the flan...don't be afraid to experiment: Chip away at the sugar and dump it into a bowl and crush the sugar into bits, after which you can sprinkle it atop the flan. (Or place the sugar, in shards, around the flan; people, trust me, will love munching on it.) Also, I find that using a disposable aluminum pan produces significantly tastier results. That said, aluminum pans are rare in 10-inch sizes, so what I do is make two little flans (with the excess batter) in two small creme brulee dishes, letting them cook next to the bigger flan in the water bath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This is an easy recipe which can be made the day ahead. I made it in 8 ramekin dishes which I greased first. The second time I made this recipe, I added a bit of butter to the sugar which seemed to speed up the melting process with no adverse effects. Very delicious and rich dessert which was enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Very good. Once you get past caramelizing the sugar (time and patience), it is very easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This was my first flan I have ever made. It was amazing! I made it for my dad on Father's Day. Our whole family loved it. It was very creamy and the caramel was lovely. When I first started making the caramel I thought it wouldn't work because it hardened so much. All my worrying was for nothing because the next day I flipped it over and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Never made flan ever, turned out great!!! My husband said I WILL be making this again. I'm gonna try this in the blender with some coconut or pineapple for something diff. Will keep you updated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 498) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Crème Caramel

See how to make a fancy flan that’s creamy, sweet, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States