Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
This was my first time making a flan and this recipe was extremely easy to follow & the results were amazing. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pikle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
It's wickedly delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mattyramirez09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
So good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
My husband has been making this flan for years for him and his family. They just love it so this is his 5 star rating. The caramel takes soooo long to make. I dread helping make it because of that. I made a suggestion to my husband that next time we try another caramel recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This turned out perfect. After beating everything together, I noticed some really small lumps of cream cheese, so I poured the mixture through a wire mesh strainer into the pan. No lumps to mess up the texture! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I made this for my Aunt and Uncle they loved it!! I love the texture. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynthia mills

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dee Rodriguez
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Love the texture & creaminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Rodriguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yese
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I followed the advice of other reviews and mixed the wet ingredients at room temp before starting on the sugar. I used a handheld mixer instead of a blender and it turned out great. I have never made caramel before so when my sugar started clumping and taking forever to melt I did freak out a little bit. After a couple of calls to my mother, I was assured it was normal and the sugar melts soon after it starts clumping, which in this case it did. Don't be scared to use med-med high heat otherwise you'll be stirring the sugar for 45 min just like me. While I was making the caramel, I put my glass dish in the pre-heated oven so that when I poured the sugar it would not immediately harden. I also put my dish in a (hot - I forgot and put cold water) water bath for even baking. I didn't know what the recipe meant by "set" as I have never made flan so I baked it until it was firm which made the consistency closer to a cheesecake than a traditional flan which wasn't a problem because after refrigerating it, it was delicious and creamy!! Also - I added vanilla to the wet ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I made this today. Was very excited to think it would be a creamy flan. Unfortunately, still turned out with that slick eggy texture, even with the cream cheese, I used a glass 10" pie plate and the recipe was way too much for that size pan. I am looking for a recipe my daughter-in-laws grandmother made almost 8 years ago. It was perfection. Smooth, creamy, and I can still remember the wonderful rich flavor and texture that just melted in my mouth. She had lived in Peru awhile as a missionary, and I believe the recipe might be from that area. Alas, she is unwilling to part with her recipe, so I continue my search, and many flop recipes, as this one was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 502) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Crème Caramel

See how to make a fancy flan that’s creamy, sweet, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States