Creamy Cajun Shrimp Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This was a great recipe! I actually served this over brown rice instead of pasta. I used less flour and substituted heavy cream for 1/4 of the milk. I didn't find it too spicy by any means- it may just depend on the brand of cajun seasoning..... This meal will stay in my rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This was VERY quick and easy and tasty. However, my daughter and I found it way too spicy, and I am from south Louisiana! I'm not sure what type of "cajun" seasoning the recipe submitter used, but I used Tony's and only 1 tablespoon instead of the 2 it called for. Will make it again but with less than 1 tablespoon of seasoning. By the way, my hubby did love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Primes Rayburn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Perkinston, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This dish is restaurant quality! Super creamy and lots of cajun kick! I rated it 4 stars because it was a bit salty to me. I used Old Bay seasoning which may have been why (not sure). Next time I will omit the salt called for. Also, it made ALOT of sauce! I put 16 oz of noodles with this and it was still plenty saucy enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Reduce the sauce less, to avoid gloppy texture. Add more salt (not enough flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I've made this many times and each time was as good as the last. We serve it with piping hot french bread and it's amazing. We add more Cajun spice and make more sauce because we don't like dry noodles. It's good, though, and I highly recommend it to everyone who likes cajun food. Even if you don't like spicy food, you should try it with less cajun seasoning. It's very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I love it! I added Fresh sated mushrooms and a medium red onion with extra garlic. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This is outstanding. A must try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was really good, and really easy. The only changes I made were to reduce the cajun seasoning to one tablespoon (it was plenty salty, even so), add one teaspoon of red pepper flakes, and reduce the pasta by half. This is a restaurant-quality dish, and I'd be proud to serve it to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Very easy, very good. I did cut the amount of cajun seasoning as other reviews stated...I'm kind of a wimp when it comes to spicy foods. I sauted some brocolli and added that to the sauce. Served this with a salad and crescent rolls. I received a lot of compliments from the family while they chowed down! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This was a great base recipe, but I made a couple of changes. 1. Only use ONE-QUARTER of the amount of Cajun seasoning specified. I used McCormick's Perfect Pinch Cajun seasoning, and maybe's it's really spicy, but two tablespoons would have been way too much. 2. I used fettuccine pasta because I didn't have angel hair, but I'm sure angel hair pasta would be good too. 3. Reduce the amount of flour slightly, and don't cook for the full five minutes. One or two minutes is plenty. Also, I added the Cajun seasoning right before I added the milk, not with the flour, because I didn't want it to burn. 4. Don't add extra salt, but do add 1/4 to 1/3 cup freshly grated parmesan. I just whisked it in after the sauce had thickened. With these changes, this was a super-easy recipe for a delicious shrimp pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GlacierFreeze

Displaying results 91-100 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Chicken Pasta

See how to make a creamy chicken sauté served over linguine.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States