Creamy Cajun Shrimp Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
This recipe isn't bad. It does need a little help at the end. We found by adding 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese and litle extra salt and pepper made a world of difference...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
LOVED IT! I used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk and doubled the garlic. I added the 1/2 and 1/2 right after the seasoning since the seasoning will turn to paste and burn. I made my own YUMMY cajun seasoning (1 tsp each: white pepper, black pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, cayenne pepper and paprika-makes 2 tblspn exactly). PHENOMENOL! (MOST recipes with high ratings turn out just ok or better if I fudge it a bit, this one is awesome!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn Mahoney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Bear Township, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
This one will become a regular at our house. We all liked it! I added red bell pepper when I sauteed the garlic. Add the bell pepper first, then garlic, then the shrimp. Watch the shrimp closely and remove from pan as soon as it turns pink so you don't get rubbery shrimp. I also reduced the flour (1/8 C) and added the milk slowly. I used the full amount of cajun seasoning, it was McCormick's Creole Seasoning, and maybe a dash more. (It wasn't too spicy for us) I added black pepper to finish and left off the salt and lemon juice. I will make this for friends soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I used to work in a restaurant which served a similar dish. It was my favorite! I gave this recipe a shot in hopes it would be just a tasty. It was close. Though my husband and I like spicy food, I thought the Cajun spice was a little overwhelming. I will use a little less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
Very tasty and spicy! Next time I will use a little less cajun seasoning - probably only 1 tbsp. To avoid the "flour taste" as one reviewer had, add more butter or margarine to cook the flour. I added some snap peas to the dish for more color. Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Very good. We really ejoyed this. I used 2 cloves garlic, 1/8cup flour, 1 TBSP Creole seasoning & added red bell pepper, Zucchini & mushrooms. We will be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Maybe my cajun seasoning was extra spicy but, as written, this recipe is so spicy that we had to throw the whole thing out and I only used about 1 1/2T! I like spicy food but this was over the top! The flavor would be good without so much spice (I think. I'm going to try again with 2 teaspoons of seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
VERY tasty:-) I substituted McCormick's Steak Rub for the cajun seasoning & it turned out great! However, when adding the seasoning to the skillet, you must only combine it with the butter until a paste forms - DO NOT COOK FOR 5 WHOLE MINUTES! If you did that before adding any liquid, it would result in a burn (this should be obvious to anyone over 10, no biggie, just adjust!). Easy prep, a short ingredient list & yummy flavor make this a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAZZARI76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millsboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mcmurray, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
Pretty good... the flour adds more of a "gravy" flavor in stead of a "sauce" flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
My fiance and I loved this recipe. He even took some to work (which he never does!!) It is definately a keeper. I lowered the Cajun seasoning by half. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Chicken Pasta

See how to make a creamy chicken sauté served over linguine.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States