Creamy Cajun Shrimp Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I made this recipe once. I went ahead and made my own Cajun seasoning as well. I used 1tsp of red pepper in the place of cayenne. 1tsp of garlic powder, 1tsp of onion salt, 1tsp of lemon pepper, 1tsp of paprika and a half tsp of old bay lemon and herb seasoning. I also sautéed 2 cloves of garlic and green onion in the butter. The butter stays and doesn't evaporate. Don't use anything else than pure butter. Salted. I then added my shrimp and sautéed 1 minute and then removed all of it. Added my spices along with my flour and milk made it to my desired thickness. Once I felt the flour was devolved I put the shrimp and garlic along with the green onion and cooked it a bit more to allow the sauce to catch the flavor of the shrimp. I served this over linguini. Angel hair breaks apart too easily. But linguini is just the right amount of thickness. This recipe does need green onions to give it that extra flavor. I also added Parm to my sauce and let it cook . I will never buy pasta sauce again. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
ONLY USE 1T or less of cajun spice !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chili Dogma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I loved this recipe! The only adjustment that I made was I only added 1 cup of milk and added a can of diced tomatoes. The sauce was good, but it wasn't the kind of spicy I liked. I like creamy texture with lots of flavor. I also added some Italian seasoning. I will definitely make this again! One quick note, I added a little extra milk to my kids to tone down the spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Loved it. I doubled the garlic and added bell peppers, celery, rotel tomatoes and a can of cream of shrimp. I also added a few slices of Velveeta cheese at the end. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I read a lot of the comments and I guess I typically use a recipe as a base and build on it. But I really liked this recipe. I did reduce the butter but used cream and milk...probably half cream/ half milk. The only other thing I did was add a bit of shredded parm at the end but I think it would have been fine without it. (Oh and I left out the lemon..I'm not a big lemon fan.) But thanks ekawkins15...I'm keeping a copy of this recipe in my cookbook my kids get when I die. LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkrek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Excellent flavor and easy to prepare. Make sure to use all of the milk in the recipe as the sauce tends to thicken as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This was so good and so simple to make! The only change I made was I used 1 cup of milk and a can of cream of mushroom soup. (I only used about half the flour). I did use egg noodles instead of angel hair pasta also, I figure any kind of noodles you happen to have around would be fine. This is one of my new favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grace1984

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Hillstrom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I stared with red onion, corn, mushrooms, and green pepper cooking in some butter tell almost done. I then added to cloves of garlic, and the rest of the butter cooked for one min. Next I added just 1 cup of coconut milk (less fat and thicker), 1 1/2 teaspoon of club house cajun sesoning. a tsp of flour, and 1/4 grated parmesan cheese. cooked the shrimp the same as the recipe. Texture was perfect, nice consistency, not think, not thin. So yummy. Husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Great! I added mushrooms (per another review--mushrooms, then garlic, then shrimp) but followed the rest to a tee. Easy ingredients I had on hand too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Chicken Pasta

See how to make a creamy chicken sauté served over linguine.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States