Creamy Cajun Shrimp Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was really good, and really easy. The only changes I made were to reduce the cajun seasoning to one tablespoon (it was plenty salty, even so), add one teaspoon of red pepper flakes, and reduce the pasta by half. This is a restaurant-quality dish, and I'd be proud to serve it to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Very easy, very good. I did cut the amount of cajun seasoning as other reviews stated...I'm kind of a wimp when it comes to spicy foods. I sauted some brocolli and added that to the sauce. Served this with a salad and crescent rolls. I received a lot of compliments from the family while they chowed down! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This was a great base recipe, but I made a couple of changes. 1. Only use ONE-QUARTER of the amount of Cajun seasoning specified. I used McCormick's Perfect Pinch Cajun seasoning, and maybe's it's really spicy, but two tablespoons would have been way too much. 2. I used fettuccine pasta because I didn't have angel hair, but I'm sure angel hair pasta would be good too. 3. Reduce the amount of flour slightly, and don't cook for the full five minutes. One or two minutes is plenty. Also, I added the Cajun seasoning right before I added the milk, not with the flour, because I didn't want it to burn. 4. Don't add extra salt, but do add 1/4 to 1/3 cup freshly grated parmesan. I just whisked it in after the sauce had thickened. With these changes, this was a super-easy recipe for a delicious shrimp pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GlacierFreeze
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Will not make again. I followed the recipe exactly, and it was like eating noodles with gravy. NOT APPETIZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This recipe has too much heat for poor little me. I recommend cutting the cajun spice by half or even more, tasting, then adding more to your liking. Change milk to half and half and adding more garlic, and some scallions or onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
My husband made this for tonight's dinner, it was delicious. We only added 1 tblspoon of the cajun seasoning and it was plenty. We also like spice, but 1 tblspoon was enough, we took everyones advice and started off with less. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene
Home Town: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I really liked the idea of this and it tasted fine, but the consistency was very glue-ish and didn't look very appetizing. Luckily I only put in 1 tbsp of Cajun seasoning because it was super spicy. I'm not sure I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca17

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This was very good, I didn't think it was spicy at all but not sure if I added 2 tbls of cajun seasoning, I don't usually measure spices or seasonings out. I cooked the shrimp in a skillet in some olive oil with the garlic and cajun seasoning and made the creamy sauce in a sauce pan. This was great I would make it again, but add the full amount of cajun seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I made this according to the recipe as much as possible but I didn't have lemon Juice. It was still pretty darn good and I will make it again, next time adding the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
After reading the reviews, I was worried about the spiciness level, so I used a 1 1/2 tbs. of Cajun Seasoning (Emeril's Bayou Blast). After I tasted the sauce though, I decided to throw in the remaining 1/2 tbs.- no one- including my spicy-sensitive mother and 8 year old- said it was too spicy. I used one cup skim milk and 1 cup half and half for the milk, though I did not consider the flour, and felt the sauce came out a wee bit too thick- like gravy, as one reviewer said- but this was my fault. This dish was pretty good and could easily be improved upon with the addition of veggies as others have noted, though I don't think I'll have a strong hankering to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Chicken Pasta

See how to make a creamy chicken sauté served over linguine.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States