Creamy Cabbage with Apples and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
The complexity of flavors makes this a special dish. We felt the first hint of fall in the air today, so I thought this would be an appropriate supper. I'll also make this again - it would be excellent even without the sour cream added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I love this dish! I used both bacon and sausage because we just got a half a hog and wanted to try both. I added chopped carrots and celery to the onion, left out the olive oil because with the porks I did not need it and the sour cream because I don't like it and forgot the coriander and nutmeg. LOL. Was still awesome.This dish had a different flavor and texture with every bite. I think the only thing it needed to be a perfect meal was some kind of course peasant bread like a rye bread or maybe Irish Soda Bread. Thank You for this recipe, it is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peru, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Followed recipe and I have to say I was surprised how much I liked it. I don't usually like cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rodney Kleeberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Made this for a St. Patrick's Day potluck. Wow, did it go over big! Excellent tasting. . . will definitely make again. Added 2 cooked, sliced bratwurst.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lady.dragonfly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I didn't like cooked cabbage much until I tried this recipe. Now I LOVE IT! I want to tell the world about it and eat it for breakfast lunch and dinner! I didn't have the corriander so I did just a pinch of the nutmeg. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Thanks to whomever posted the photo - right on! I posted the original recipe - this pic made me think of folding in a can of lowly sliced potatoes (50 cents), rinsed and drained, at the last minute for a one-stop shop. Get back to you on that... And ground coriander or mustard is fab instead of the seeds...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Awesome!!! One change: apple cider (juice not vinegar) for the chicken stock. One omission: Did not use sour cream. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Perfect side for sausages and spaetzle. Even my 5 year old was stoked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten Soder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Excellent recipe! Used ground coriander, since I didn't have seeds. Stirred in about 10-12 oz of cooked egg noodles at the end -it's a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This was very good, I didn't have enough coriander seed so I added a little dill as suggested. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States