Creamy Cabbage with Apples and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
The complexity of flavors makes this a special dish. We felt the first hint of fall in the air today, so I thought this would be an appropriate supper. I'll also make this again - it would be excellent even without the sour cream added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Awesome!!! One change: apple cider (juice not vinegar) for the chicken stock. One omission: Did not use sour cream. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I love this dish! I used both bacon and sausage because we just got a half a hog and wanted to try both. I added chopped carrots and celery to the onion, left out the olive oil because with the porks I did not need it and the sour cream because I don't like it and forgot the coriander and nutmeg. LOL. Was still awesome.This dish had a different flavor and texture with every bite. I think the only thing it needed to be a perfect meal was some kind of course peasant bread like a rye bread or maybe Irish Soda Bread. Thank You for this recipe, it is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peru, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Followed recipe and I have to say I was surprised how much I liked it. I don't usually like cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rodney Kleeberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Made this for a St. Patrick's Day potluck. Wow, did it go over big! Excellent tasting. . . will definitely make again. Added 2 cooked, sliced bratwurst.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lady.dragonfly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I didn't like cooked cabbage much until I tried this recipe. Now I LOVE IT! I want to tell the world about it and eat it for breakfast lunch and dinner! I didn't have the corriander so I did just a pinch of the nutmeg. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Thanks to whomever posted the photo - right on! I posted the original recipe - this pic made me think of folding in a can of lowly sliced potatoes (50 cents), rinsed and drained, at the last minute for a one-stop shop. Get back to you on that... And ground coriander or mustard is fab instead of the seeds...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Very good with mashed potatoes and breaded pork chops. (We prefered this as a side dish, not as a main course.) Subbed ground corriander for the seeds because that's all I had and used 1/2 as much. Fat free sour cream worked just fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wind Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This was very good, I didn't have enough coriander seed so I added a little dill as suggested. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This was very good. The apples and bacon really added to the flavor of this substantial cabbage dish. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States