Creamy Cabbage with Apples and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This was very good. The apples and bacon really added to the flavor of this substantial cabbage dish. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
The complexity of flavors makes this a special dish. We felt the first hint of fall in the air today, so I thought this would be an appropriate supper. I'll also make this again - it would be excellent even without the sour cream added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I love this dish! I used both bacon and sausage because we just got a half a hog and wanted to try both. I added chopped carrots and celery to the onion, left out the olive oil because with the porks I did not need it and the sour cream because I don't like it and forgot the coriander and nutmeg. LOL. Was still awesome.This dish had a different flavor and texture with every bite. I think the only thing it needed to be a perfect meal was some kind of course peasant bread like a rye bread or maybe Irish Soda Bread. Thank You for this recipe, it is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peru, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I didn't like cooked cabbage much until I tried this recipe. Now I LOVE IT! I want to tell the world about it and eat it for breakfast lunch and dinner! I didn't have the corriander so I did just a pinch of the nutmeg. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Made this for a St. Patrick's Day potluck. Wow, did it go over big! Excellent tasting. . . will definitely make again. Added 2 cooked, sliced bratwurst.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lady.dragonfly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Very good with mashed potatoes and breaded pork chops. (We prefered this as a side dish, not as a main course.) Subbed ground corriander for the seeds because that's all I had and used 1/2 as much. Fat free sour cream worked just fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wind Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Very surprised how well the flavors blended together. It really does require the 30 mins cooking time for the flavors to meld. This combination does a good job of eliminating the sulfuric taste of cabbage. Didn't add sour cream, and it tasted great. Also used Canadian bacon instead of bacon and gala instead of Granny Smith apples (cut down the sugar though) with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Thanks to whomever posted the photo - right on! I posted the original recipe - this pic made me think of folding in a can of lowly sliced potatoes (50 cents), rinsed and drained, at the last minute for a one-stop shop. Get back to you on that... And ground coriander or mustard is fab instead of the seeds...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
this dish was excellent....almost as i remember it back in europe. only the american bacon is not quite like in europe (the smoky, fatty version is better). i did not have coriander (which is the key) and used fennel seed instead. was delicious with a hint of fennel as well. i like that sour cream is used instead of heavy cream or butter...was just as rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
We did not like this at all. It was kind of sweet. It just wasn't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States