Creamy Butternut Squash With Cinnamon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I have made this twice but 3rd time was the (unintended) charm. I was at the broth step when I realized I had none; I googled and got info that you could use 1 TBS soy sauce to 1 cup water as a sub. I cut that back to 3/4 TBS per cup. Also sub'ed allspice for cloves. Used only 1/2 cup half & half. Did everything else as directed, and wow love this. So do my dogs. I dropped some on the floor and they were all over it. It's not breed specific either - the lab and yorkie both begged for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skeergirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Berwyn, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
It's really great! Has a nice heated spiciness to it from the cayenne I added green peppers,carrotes and potatoes ,pureed great,enjoyed this very much on a nice fall day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I made this delicious soup. I did change it a bit. I omitted the Cloves, and Half n Half. I added 1/2 of a peeled appled/chopped. I, also, added 4 ounces of a brick of cream cheese which was a substitute for the half and half. Instead of using the cloves, I added 1/2 of a teaspoon of curry powder. I, also, roasted my squash which gives it a much deeper flavor. The directions were a tad bit confusing but that didn't stop me from trying this recipe as I've made enough soups to do my own thing. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Very good! I used 2 packages of trimmed, diced squash, which weighed more than the recipe called for, so I upped everything else as well. I also added a bit of marjoram...about a half teaspoon. Good recipe. Dinner tonight with ham sammies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I will make this one my fave butternut squash soup. It's just what I was looking for. Not too sweet, yet with the autumn spices that really make it cozy! I did not change anything other than leaving out the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This recipe was great. I made it for a family dinner and everyone loved it. I left out the cloves and added allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Delicious, roasted squash first, and skipped out on cayenne pepper. I agree with the reviewers who say that apple slices really finish it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimée Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Great flavors! I used 2cups broth instead and only half cup half and half to make sure it wasn't too watery. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. I loved the way that it tasted. I wish I had seen the review where it told you to slowly to add the broth to make sure you don't put in too much, because my squash was a little bit small. When I made this, I also baked some crescent rolls and dipped them into the soup. It was amazing. This is something that is very versatile--I can see it being the base for other creations. Beans? Sure. Meat? Why not. I'm excited to see what I can do with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Great recipe but 3 cups broth was too much. The 2nd time I made it I subbed 1 1/2 cup broth and a can of light coconut milk. My guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States