Creamy Butternut Squash With Cinnamon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was a really easy recipe. I followed the suggestions and roasted the squash first, for 45 minutes at 375. The first time I made a squash soup it took me forever to peel it. This way I didn't have to do that. In order to use up somethings I had in the house I also roasted some regular and sweet potatos. I cooked the onions, and then dumped in the roasted squash and potatos. This changes the texture a bit, but is a good way to cheaply strech the recipe. I added a little more in the way of spices (probably about 1 1/2 times the reccommended amounts) and used nutmeg in place of cloves because that is what I had. I also added some pumpkin pie spice to taste. The last change that I made was using vanilla yogurt in place of the half and half. The end product is a slightly tangy, slightly spicy, slightly sweet soup. Kind of like pie. Really good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I followed the recipe exectly and the consistency turned out fine, I just didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This soup was creamy and delicious!!! Definitely a favorite on colder nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayellpee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Delicious! I added extra cayenne, since I love spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is a good recipe if you like spicy soup. However, it was too spicy for my 2 yo to even want any as a sauce for her gnocchi. My boyfriend and I both like spice and flavor but we found the cayenne to be too overpowering and not needed with the other spices. To make it more nutritious and sweeter for my daughter I peeled and diced an apple and included it during the initial "browning" phase. I served this with gnocchi to make it a heartier meal and added a dollop of sour cream. But again, my bf and I found ourselves adding more sour cream to tone down the cayenne. I also discovered as I was preparing to puree the soup that our blender had stopped working so I used a hand mixer instead. CAUTION - only do this if you're preparing the soup in a deep pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Centerville, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is by far my favorite squash soup. I find the warmth of the ginger and cayenne very comforting. Using half-and-half (or whole milk) seems to bury the beautiful flavors. I prefer to use 1% milk instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This soup was amazing and not too hard to make. It tasted even better a few days later. The touch of cayenne pepper was just the perfect amount to really make the soup warming without making it spicy. I only used 1 cup of half-and-half to keep the soup nice and thick. Terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCarla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Good soup - I make it the day before as I find it tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Albert and Christian both liked it but I wasn't sure about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Recipe is perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States