Creamy Butternut Squash With Cinnamon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I just made this. Taste very good. It was a success. Only thing is I added coconut milk instead of half and half or milk. I also sauteed squash and onions in blood orange olive oil. I also bought ready to cook squash from Sam's club. I have a 13 1/2month old, so cubed was definitely best for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Do not repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
One of my all-time favorite recipes on this site. I have made this again and again. Add a dollop of Greek yogurt on top... scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Very good! The aroma and flavors definitely say *Christmas* to me, which made this perfect for Christmas Eve dinner. I served it as the main course but, if I make it again, I'll serve it as an appetizer (soup shooters?) because it is so rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I've made this twice now and love it! Not a fan of spicy Cajun so I followed the recipe the first time and it was a bit too spicy for my liking, so just reduced the amount the second time. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Best soup ever...fantastic cold too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Just made this fabulous soup!! For the most part I followed all the instructions except I only had fat-free Half and Half on hand. I also added about 1 1/2 tsp of honey at the very end which just smoothed out all the flavors. The cayenne really gave it a kick! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I was really hoping to love this soup. But we both didn't really care for it. I roasted my squash instead of sauteing it and pretty much went by the rest of the recipe. Even though my first few bites of this was very pleasant, I think I would rather have a small little appetizer size bowl of it before your main meal. We had it with our meal and I think that may be why we didn't care for it. But as an appetizer, I think it would be perfect. Thanks for letting us try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Excellent! Not too much cinnamon at all. Upped the cayenne to 1/4 and added a 1/4 cajun seasoning and a sprinkle of turmeric. The ginger hits the back of your throat and the cayenne and cajun the tongue. Everyone liked it and I like hot, but just on the verge of a sweat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allenjc41
Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Loved this. Did this differently than listed and it was great: Roasted the squash at 400 degrees for 45 minutes before beginning with the recipe instructions. I did almost 2 lbs of squash but kept the spice quantities the same. Instead of pinch of white sugar, I did pinch of brown sugar. Didn't have half and half or whole mile, so I did 2 cups of 2% and then diluted 2 tbls of corn starch in about 1/2 cup of water to thicken the pureed squash mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Gibson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States