Creamy Butternut Squash With Cinnamon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This was a fantastic recipe! It was easy for a novice soup maker like myself, and turned out fabulously, even though I omitted the cayenne pepper. A nice touch I found was to garnish it with a bit of cilantro, not only did it look great beside the bit of sour cream floating on top, but for those who aren’t afraid to eat the garnish the flavors worked really well together. The only draw back to this was that sadly it didn’t reheat well. I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Love it. I followed the recipe exactly, except I didn't garnish with apple chips. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
This was fantastic! Following the reviews, I left out the cloves. I also used only 1 garlic clove, and 1/2 an onion to make the flavors milder. I used 1% milk instead of cream to make it healthier. Since I used acorn squash, I microwaved it first for about 8-10 min so I could remove the peel. We will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Way too much spice, and too thick. May try again with 1/4 of the spice, and a bunch more broth. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This might have been the best thing that I have ever made. It was our first course at our Thanksgiving meal and it got absolute raves from everyone (including my 5 year old!) I mostly followed the recipe except I only used 1 tsp of cinnamon instead of 1 1/2tsp (although the full amount probably would have been fine, I worried that it was too much). I was very lucky that I had all the veggies from our local organic CSA and I used my own chicken stock. I also added leeks because I had them, as well as a sprig of fresh thyme. I used a quart of chicken stock and about 2 lbs of butternut squash. It made a good consistency soup that needed almost no half and half at all (I probably used about 1/2 cup). The cayenne gave this a wonderful kick. I garnished with fresh thyme instead of apple chips. My family said that it was "restaurant quality" soup. It is a great recipe that I am sure will become a T-day tradition in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Delicious! Served this to a dinner party over the weekend and got rave reviews. Instead of apple chips, I topped with sour cream. I forgot to purchase the apple chips at the store otherwise I would have added them. Great presentation. You should have heard the "ooohhhhs" and "aaaahhhhhs." Simple to prepare, cannot wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
delicious! This soup had a great flavor. I didn't used cloves as I didn't have any, and added more than a pinch of sugar, but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
FANTASTIC...This soup was so tasty and creamy. I only used 1 cup of half and half and no cayenne pepper or apple chips. Very easy since I had all the ingredients in the house. I cooked each step a little longer than it says. It has such a wonderful flavor and the color is so perfect for fall. Made my Thursday night dinner seem like we were in a fancy restaurant. Will make for Thanksgiving. Hubby loved it. Thanks alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Absolutely lovely. I left out the cloves (didn't have any), and cooked it a little longer than recommended (got sidetracked). This turned out to be a good thing, because when I got back to it, it could be blended with a potato masher- way less mess than a blender. It was a hit with my husband and the friends we were sharing with- everyone wanted the recipe. I'll definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Destie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This isn't just making soup.. this is a culinary experience! The smell of the vegetables while they saute is wonderful. The golden beautiful color of the vegetables is amazing and then the fragrant spices fill your kitchen. This soup is amazing. It has the most wonderful taste. Best butternut soup I have made or tasted! I loved the warmth of the cayenne pepper also; I might use a tiny bit less next time though, but don't leave it out! Wonderful for a chilly fall night or cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States