Creamy Butternut Squash With Cinnamon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I have made this twice but 3rd time was the (unintended) charm. I was at the broth step when I realized I had none; I googled and got info that you could use 1 TBS soy sauce to 1 cup water as a sub. I cut that back to 3/4 TBS per cup. Also sub'ed allspice for cloves. Used only 1/2 cup half & half. Did everything else as directed, and wow love this. So do my dogs. I dropped some on the floor and they were all over it. It's not breed specific either - the lab and yorkie both begged for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skeergirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Berwyn, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
It's really great! Has a nice heated spiciness to it from the cayenne I added green peppers,carrotes and potatoes ,pureed great,enjoyed this very much on a nice fall day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I made this delicious soup. I did change it a bit. I omitted the Cloves, and Half n Half. I added 1/2 of a peeled appled/chopped. I, also, added 4 ounces of a brick of cream cheese which was a substitute for the half and half. Instead of using the cloves, I added 1/2 of a teaspoon of curry powder. I, also, roasted my squash which gives it a much deeper flavor. The directions were a tad bit confusing but that didn't stop me from trying this recipe as I've made enough soups to do my own thing. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Very good! I used 2 packages of trimmed, diced squash, which weighed more than the recipe called for, so I upped everything else as well. I also added a bit of marjoram...about a half teaspoon. Good recipe. Dinner tonight with ham sammies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I will make this one my fave butternut squash soup. It's just what I was looking for. Not too sweet, yet with the autumn spices that really make it cozy! I did not change anything other than leaving out the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This recipe was great. I made it for a family dinner and everyone loved it. I left out the cloves and added allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Delicious, roasted squash first, and skipped out on cayenne pepper. I agree with the reviewers who say that apple slices really finish it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimée Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Great flavors! I used 2cups broth instead and only half cup half and half to make sure it wasn't too watery. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. I loved the way that it tasted. I wish I had seen the review where it told you to slowly to add the broth to make sure you don't put in too much, because my squash was a little bit small. When I made this, I also baked some crescent rolls and dipped them into the soup. It was amazing. This is something that is very versatile--I can see it being the base for other creations. Beans? Sure. Meat? Why not. I'm excited to see what I can do with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Great recipe but 3 cups broth was too much. The 2nd time I made it I subbed 1 1/2 cup broth and a can of light coconut milk. My guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States