Creamy Butternut Squash With Cinnamon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This soup was fantastic. I'm not sure how much my squash weighed, but I think it was less than what this recipe called for. I halved, seeded, and placed my squash half side down in a pan with nonstick spray, and baked on 375 for about 40-45 minutes. This is so much easier than peeling and cutting it raw. The consistancy will be mushier and moist, so when its in the pan it will not brown. I also slow cooked this recipe because I fell in love with the smell! When it came to adding the broth, I HIGHLY recommend that you slowly add this ingredient because depending on the size of your squash, this much broth may be the reason some of your soups came out watery. I would add it until its like a chunky applesauce. Then, while blending, add some cream and pulse your blender until it resembles traditional applesauce. I then put the soup back into the pan on a low simmer and chopped up apples, paper thin, and added them. I simmered this, allowing the apples to soften and absorb the flavor. If you are going to add apples, I advise you to add them after you puree, the apple pieces really finish off this dish. Again, fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Delish! Since roasting the squash (cut side down, 400 degrees, 45 mins) helps keep in the nutrients, i roasted the squash, then followed the recipe exactly. It was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEEJA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carroll, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I have made this soup twice now and it is wonderful! I dropped a star not because of the soup itself, but simply because the descriptions of the steps in the recipe seemed to me misleading and thus confusing. What I mean is that descriptions of what the vegetables should look like at different steps in the process, i.e. "golden brown," "spotty caramel color," never happened when I made it, no matter how long I let it cook at that stage. So after waiting long enough for these color changes I would simply move on, and the soup still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This might have been the best thing that I have ever made. It was our first course at our Thanksgiving meal and it got absolute raves from everyone (including my 5 year old!) I mostly followed the recipe except I only used 1 tsp of cinnamon instead of 1 1/2tsp (although the full amount probably would have been fine, I worried that it was too much). I was very lucky that I had all the veggies from our local organic CSA and I used my own chicken stock. I also added leeks because I had them, as well as a sprig of fresh thyme. I used a quart of chicken stock and about 2 lbs of butternut squash. It made a good consistency soup that needed almost no half and half at all (I probably used about 1/2 cup). The cayenne gave this a wonderful kick. I garnished with fresh thyme instead of apple chips. My family said that it was "restaurant quality" soup. It is a great recipe that I am sure will become a T-day tradition in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This was fantastic! I made it with a few variations though. I substituted fat free 1/2 and 1/2 for the regular, and added four tablespoons of butter instead of one to make it richer. Louisiana Cajun spice (just a 1/2 tblsp) and a dash of nutmeg made it delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKernahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Absolutely lovely. I left out the cloves (didn't have any), and cooked it a little longer than recommended (got sidetracked). This turned out to be a good thing, because when I got back to it, it could be blended with a potato masher- way less mess than a blender. It was a hit with my husband and the friends we were sharing with- everyone wanted the recipe. I'll definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Destie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I had a similar soup at the Princeville resort in Kauai and decided I was going to figure out how to make it. I followed the directions except used heavy cream in place of the half-and-half (may as well go all out), added about 1 tsp of curry, and added blue cheese on top as a garnish. WOW!!! We gave it 10 stars!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Delicious! Served this to a dinner party over the weekend and got rave reviews. Instead of apple chips, I topped with sour cream. I forgot to purchase the apple chips at the store otherwise I would have added them. Great presentation. You should have heard the "ooohhhhs" and "aaaahhhhhs." Simple to prepare, cannot wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
This is possibly the best soup I've ever eaten! I added a diced pear when I added the garlic and spices which gave it more texture and made it a bit sweeter. Very yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
Lovely warm taste. Made my entire house smell wonderful. Taste to die for - not too thick, but still hearty. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States