Creamy Butternut Squash With Cinnamon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This soup was fantastic. I'm not sure how much my squash weighed, but I think it was less than what this recipe called for. I halved, seeded, and placed my squash half side down in a pan with nonstick spray, and baked on 375 for about 40-45 minutes. This is so much easier than peeling and cutting it raw. The consistancy will be mushier and moist, so when its in the pan it will not brown. I also slow cooked this recipe because I fell in love with the smell! When it came to adding the broth, I HIGHLY recommend that you slowly add this ingredient because depending on the size of your squash, this much broth may be the reason some of your soups came out watery. I would add it until its like a chunky applesauce. Then, while blending, add some cream and pulse your blender until it resembles traditional applesauce. I then put the soup back into the pan on a low simmer and chopped up apples, paper thin, and added them. I simmered this, allowing the apples to soften and absorb the flavor. If you are going to add apples, I advise you to add them after you puree, the apple pieces really finish off this dish. Again, fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Delish! Since roasting the squash (cut side down, 400 degrees, 45 mins) helps keep in the nutrients, i roasted the squash, then followed the recipe exactly. It was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEEJA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carroll, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I have made this soup twice now and it is wonderful! I dropped a star not because of the soup itself, but simply because the descriptions of the steps in the recipe seemed to me misleading and thus confusing. What I mean is that descriptions of what the vegetables should look like at different steps in the process, i.e. "golden brown," "spotty caramel color," never happened when I made it, no matter how long I let it cook at that stage. So after waiting long enough for these color changes I would simply move on, and the soup still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This might have been the best thing that I have ever made. It was our first course at our Thanksgiving meal and it got absolute raves from everyone (including my 5 year old!) I mostly followed the recipe except I only used 1 tsp of cinnamon instead of 1 1/2tsp (although the full amount probably would have been fine, I worried that it was too much). I was very lucky that I had all the veggies from our local organic CSA and I used my own chicken stock. I also added leeks because I had them, as well as a sprig of fresh thyme. I used a quart of chicken stock and about 2 lbs of butternut squash. It made a good consistency soup that needed almost no half and half at all (I probably used about 1/2 cup). The cayenne gave this a wonderful kick. I garnished with fresh thyme instead of apple chips. My family said that it was "restaurant quality" soup. It is a great recipe that I am sure will become a T-day tradition in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This was fantastic! I made it with a few variations though. I substituted fat free 1/2 and 1/2 for the regular, and added four tablespoons of butter instead of one to make it richer. Louisiana Cajun spice (just a 1/2 tblsp) and a dash of nutmeg made it delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKernahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I had a similar soup at the Princeville resort in Kauai and decided I was going to figure out how to make it. I followed the directions except used heavy cream in place of the half-and-half (may as well go all out), added about 1 tsp of curry, and added blue cheese on top as a garnish. WOW!!! We gave it 10 stars!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Absolutely lovely. I left out the cloves (didn't have any), and cooked it a little longer than recommended (got sidetracked). This turned out to be a good thing, because when I got back to it, it could be blended with a potato masher- way less mess than a blender. It was a hit with my husband and the friends we were sharing with- everyone wanted the recipe. I'll definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Destie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Delicious! Served this to a dinner party over the weekend and got rave reviews. Instead of apple chips, I topped with sour cream. I forgot to purchase the apple chips at the store otherwise I would have added them. Great presentation. You should have heard the "ooohhhhs" and "aaaahhhhhs." Simple to prepare, cannot wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
This is possibly the best soup I've ever eaten! I added a diced pear when I added the garlic and spices which gave it more texture and made it a bit sweeter. Very yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
Lovely warm taste. Made my entire house smell wonderful. Taste to die for - not too thick, but still hearty. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States