Creamy Butternut Squash With Cinnamon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was a pretty good soup. I thought it odd that when I cooked the soup, it smelled different that when I tasted it. It has a really spicy aftertaste. My husband liked it too. However, I did not give it to my little one because it ended up so spicy. I would recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
A bit too much cinnamon for my taste, but aside from that, it was great. Next time I will use half the cinnamon and add some tarragon. The cayenne added a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Flavorful fall weather treat. Will make it again without the cayenne pepper. Rich creamy texture. Tasted fine with vanilla soy milk; probably could do without the pinch of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minda Chow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Out of this world! Thanks for a fantastic recipe! I substituted the cayenne with black pepper but otherwise with this recipe, you can stick to the actual recipe and not do a lot of altering. The kids even like this. FANTASTIC! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This was easy to make and delicious - the combination of cinnamon and garlic made an impressive soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
did not add apple chips. Added heavy cream instead of milk, nutmeg. delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I baked the squash in the oven and then used 3 cups of cooked, mashed squash. I thought the consistency was quite nice using all other liquids in the proportions listed. I used evaporated milk instead of half-and-half. I followed the cooking times listed in the directions and not the color cues because I used the pre-cooked mashed squash. I gave it 4 stars because I think it turned out much as I would expect from the description. No surprises are the halmark of a quality recipe. I don't think I will make this again however because it is a very sweet soup and I prefer something more savory. I doubled the cayenne and still found that it did not have much kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Easy and delicious soup. The most difficult is blending the soup to a smooth consistency. I was able to use my food processor (keeping it below the liquid fill line) to do it in 2 batches. Make this vegan by using vegetable broth and not adding the cream. Instead, add less broth to create the thicker consistency. I chose to garnish with some nutmeg--really brought out the squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I make a lot of recipes from this site and I was really excited about making this one because I was craving squash soup super bad. Compared to other soups I have had this soup was not good at all. It had a strong onion taste. When my mother came over to watch my daughter she tried it and didn't like it. She couldn't even believe that I made this. She told me she has never tried anything bad that I have made. This was not the type of squash soup I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This is good - but a little more spiced than I would normally like. I had to make a few modifications (added some potato to make up for the squash - I only had half of a large butternut) and found that the flavour was still a bit much. I love the concept though, so I'll definitely give this another go exactly true to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States