Creamy Butternut Squash With Cinnamon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Delicious! I added extra cayenne, since I love spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is a good recipe if you like spicy soup. However, it was too spicy for my 2 yo to even want any as a sauce for her gnocchi. My boyfriend and I both like spice and flavor but we found the cayenne to be too overpowering and not needed with the other spices. To make it more nutritious and sweeter for my daughter I peeled and diced an apple and included it during the initial "browning" phase. I served this with gnocchi to make it a heartier meal and added a dollop of sour cream. But again, my bf and I found ourselves adding more sour cream to tone down the cayenne. I also discovered as I was preparing to puree the soup that our blender had stopped working so I used a hand mixer instead. CAUTION - only do this if you're preparing the soup in a deep pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Centerville, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is by far my favorite squash soup. I find the warmth of the ginger and cayenne very comforting. Using half-and-half (or whole milk) seems to bury the beautiful flavors. I prefer to use 1% milk instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This soup was amazing and not too hard to make. It tasted even better a few days later. The touch of cayenne pepper was just the perfect amount to really make the soup warming without making it spicy. I only used 1 cup of half-and-half to keep the soup nice and thick. Terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCarla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Good soup - I make it the day before as I find it tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Albert and Christian both liked it but I wasn't sure about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Recipe is perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was a pretty good soup. I thought it odd that when I cooked the soup, it smelled different that when I tasted it. It has a really spicy aftertaste. My husband liked it too. However, I did not give it to my little one because it ended up so spicy. I would recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
A bit too much cinnamon for my taste, but aside from that, it was great. Next time I will use half the cinnamon and add some tarragon. The cayenne added a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Flavorful fall weather treat. Will make it again without the cayenne pepper. Rich creamy texture. Tasted fine with vanilla soy milk; probably could do without the pinch of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States