Creamy Butternut Squash With Cinnamon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I loved the flavor but it seemed to me like it was missing something. And I can't quite put my finger on it. The directions were a little confusing/misleading when referring to the color of the squash while cooking. Over all, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
The spices are really flavorful! A hit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Exquisite taste! Excellent for cold days or even Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bitola, Pelagonia, Macedonia
Living In: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I dropped the garlic and added a peeled/chopped apple. In addition, 1 tbls lemon juice and 1/4 sherry. 1 can chicken broth, 1 cups milk YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Warning: this is spicy!! It is a godsend of a recipe for me however, because I just got braces and need exactly these types of soup recipes. I used my vitamix blender which is made for this type of recipe. I reduced the cayenne and onion a bit, and replaced the cream with silken soft tofu to make it vegan. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This was so tasty! The only change I made was to cut the cinnamon in half and that was just the right amount for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Delicious! Baked the squash first as other reviewers suggested. Also left out the half-and-half to make it healthier; the soup was plenty creamy without. Next time I'll skip the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was a really easy recipe. I followed the suggestions and roasted the squash first, for 45 minutes at 375. The first time I made a squash soup it took me forever to peel it. This way I didn't have to do that. In order to use up somethings I had in the house I also roasted some regular and sweet potatos. I cooked the onions, and then dumped in the roasted squash and potatos. This changes the texture a bit, but is a good way to cheaply strech the recipe. I added a little more in the way of spices (probably about 1 1/2 times the reccommended amounts) and used nutmeg in place of cloves because that is what I had. I also added some pumpkin pie spice to taste. The last change that I made was using vanilla yogurt in place of the half and half. The end product is a slightly tangy, slightly spicy, slightly sweet soup. Kind of like pie. Really good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I followed the recipe exectly and the consistency turned out fine, I just didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This soup was creamy and delicious!!! Definitely a favorite on colder nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayellpee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States