Creamy Butternut Squash With Cinnamon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This soup was delicious! I too roasted the squash (40 minutes at 375 degrees) before adding it to the saute mix. That made it very easy to puree later on, as the squash had been scooped right out of its skin. As for the other ingredients, I used the amounts called for in the recipe, with the exception of the chicken broth and half-and-half (used less for both). All in all, this was a wonderful departure from our normal meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Do not put too much garlic in this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Cutt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Soooooooooooooo good! I followed the recipe exactly- except that I added only 1/4 cup of 1/2 & 1/2 cream. Thanks for such a delicious treat!! YUM!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This was absolutely DELICIOUS!!! I made it almost exactly to the recipe except I cut down on the spices: 3/4 tsp. cinnamon, rounded half tsp ginger, 1/8 tsp cloves and substituted fresh ground nutmeg for the cayennne. I didn't want it to taste like dessert and my gut feeling was right and my belly was happy! THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I am not a big soup fan at all. Also, I've never made soup from scratch this was my first attempt. I got a free butternut squash today and thought "what can I do with this?", came on here and found this recipe. Can I just say it came out SO GOOD! I loved it! I followed the recipe exactly except had to cook the squash in the chicken broth a little longer than 10 min. Next time I 'm going to add more cinnamon and a little less cayenne pepper. (per husband's request).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This soup was so tasty! There were so many flavors at one time. To quote my husband, "It was like a flavor explosion in my mouth! It was the best soup I've ever had!" LOL Quite interesting! It took a couple of spoonfulls to get into it though. Mine didn't get thick enough, so I added corn as a bit more substance. Not sure it helped, but it did add more flavor. It was good the first day, but wonderful the second day after the flavors had a chance to really settle in. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abingdon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Restaurant quality. I don't add cayenne, salt or pepper. I do add a little more sugar (1/2 tsp.) just to make it a tad more sweet but not too much. For a garnish, I make fresh whipped cream (no sugar) with a sprinkle of cinnamon. YUM! Great for a cold, fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This recipe is excellent the way it is! The only thing I did was bake the squash ahead of time to speed it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissEisbar

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Very lovely! I didn't measure the spices properly so I ended up with a bit more kick in my soup, but it's not bad at all... just a little bit of warmth for cold winter nights! Quite delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I thought this recipe was delicious! I plan on making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States