Creamy Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Never cooked or eaten butternut squash before. This was wonderful. Took a little longer than I thought to peel and cook squash, though. If a person doesn't have "experience" with this type of squash, they might want to take a little extra time for prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smiley4jc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemphill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This is a very delicious way to cook butternut squash! Next time I think I will cook it at 375 or take it out of the oven sooner. Since I love nutmeg, I might add just a bit. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Fantastic!! I used feta cheese on top instead (used parmesan inside) and only had to use a 7x11 pyrex dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This was the first time my family and I had eaten butternut squash and it was great! Kids and husband loved it! I was out of sour cream, so I used about a half a cup of goat cheese, and instead of the fresh basil, I just sprinkled some dried basil in. To make it easier to peel the squash, I put it in the oven on Broil for 5 minutes. It softened the skin so that it peeled easily and was easier to cut without cooking the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Very tasty meal. We had this with brown rice and a vinegary cole slaw salad. I made a few changes: I added beans to the squash and onions. I used cheddar instead of Parmesan. And I mixed the mozzarella with some ground flax seeds. My family requested that the next time I make this I have a bigger cheesy layer. So I'll probably just double that part of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Just made this recipe...I didn't have any mozzarella so I used other shredded cheese...Used low fat Greek yogurt in place of sour cream and it was very tasty...My husband loved it! We will have the leftovers for breakfast with crispy bacon...I agree with the other reviewer: It does take a while to peel and cut up the squash...Make sure you have a good sharp knife and cut the squash into bite size pieces if you don't have a food processor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I thought this was a really creative way to use butternut squash. It was tasty. I added cubed chicken to make it a full meal. I cut the squash length wise and roasted it for 50 minutes at 400 degrees which made it much easier to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is a very different way of preparing butternut squash than we’re used to. While it is not our favorite way, it was still a nice change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
definitely had a quiche texture, was not expecting that. Added extra salt as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael0219

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Englewood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Had a kind of quiche texture that I did not care for. Was surprisingly bland. It wasn't terrible, but I definitely won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States