Creamy Butternut Squash and Apple Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I tried making this soup, mainly because it takes almond milk, and is low fat. No one liked it except me, and I didn't love it. It felt too thin, and watery, and not a lot of flavor. Now, this is my first attempt at a low fat creamy soup, so it might just be that we were hoping for the thick, creamy richness of full cream soups. The flavour was nice though, just wasn't enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This recipe is great BUT why use water when chicken broth adds so much more flavor? Thanks for posting:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I loved this soup. Once of the best soups I have ever made! I made a few modifications based on other reviews. I only used about a cup of water, and I precooked the squash in the microwave (stab with a fork, 8 minutes for a small one) because they are just too hard to peel and chop up. I only had a very small butternut squash, so I only used 1 cup of almond milk. I used a whole apple. I skipped the lemon juice and only had dried thyme, and I added a little cinnamon. I pureed the soup in the pot with an immersion blender and it was still fairly chunky, so I put it in my Vitamix and it came out so smooth and almost fluffy. It was fantastic. My husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I love this soup. I used 2 apples, chicken broth instead of water (and a bit less than it says). I didn't have fresh thyme, I used a small amount of cinnamon. I thought the almond milk gave it a nice richness and was still calorie friendly. I didn't puree it, just mashed it as I like a thicker soup. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
this was delicious, although I used a couple of pears instead of apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claeli69

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Yummy! This was my first ever vegan dish, I was very happy with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Pretty good recipe. I did it a bit differently. I used frozen cooked squash and cooked it down with the apples so I didn't have to puree it. It left a couple little chunks in it and made it a bit thicker, which I like. Also I didn't add the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Was kind of blah, had to add some pumpkin and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
The recipe is indeed very light and good! I used fresh nutmeg and added cinnamon and a touch of ginger to give it a little more depth. I didn't have fresh bay leaf so I omitted that. Love the less fat of the almond milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Wow - finally a creamy soup that is tasty and healthy. I used almond milk but might try soy next time just as a variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States