Creamy Buttermilk Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Made much snappier after adding lots of cayenne, juice of a whole small lemon, parmesan cheese, onion powder, spike,dill and some of my favorite chunky blue cheese dressing. Make my own sour cream so this was thinner; but addition of blue cheese dressing thickened it up perfectly. Best to let sit overnight, I think. Thank you for this great recipe which is wonderful to tailor to your own taste!/arnetage68
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OStreetGuy
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I enjoyed this dressing very much. As for it being thick, that’s an easy fix by adjusting the amount of buttermilk. I agree with what someone else said that the lemon juice/vinegar seemed a bit much at first taste. But after an overnight rest in the fridge all the flavors married together and it’s great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OStreetGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Given the tang of the sour cream, buttermilk and mayonnaise, I questioned the necessity of adding any lemon juice or vinegar at all, let alone the rather hefty amount called for. I left it out completely. So glad I did. I also knew this would be too thick for me so I doubled the buttermilk. Perfect. Finally, I knew this dressing would need a serious flavor boost – so I added fresh chives, dill and parsley. What started out as a rather mediocre, too acidic dressing became elevated to five stars. Skip the lemon or vinegar, give it a burst of flavor with some herbs, and thin as necessary with additional buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This was ok. I added the lemon juice and just a splash of rice wine vinegar. My dressing was actually pretty thin, which was totally fine. It just did not have much umph. I added quite a bit of dill. Fresh would have been much better but all I had was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I thought this was a nice dressing, though I realized afterwards I forgot the lemon juice! lol! Was still a nice and fast dressing!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaydell33
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This is one of those dressings that you have to play with a bit to get the desired taste and consistency you want. I used all light/reduced fat ingredients and opted for the rice wine vinegar vs. the lemon juice as it's a bit on the sweeter side. I did add a bit more buttermilk and this definitely needed some fresh chives and dill - a generous helping at that. I let everything set in the fridge for a few hours to let the flavors blend. In the end, with those additions it's a really nice salad dressing to top mixed greens and grilled chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I forgot to add the lemon juice or vinegar, and I added a generous amount of Italian seasoning, along with several grinds of fresh black pepper. It was a little thick, so I added buttermilk to thin it out. This dressing improves as the flavors blend, so I let it sit overnight...delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Very nice... needed to use some lettuce I had and didn't have any salad dressing... so found this recipe and really liked it. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Del Rio, Texas, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Quite bland. Should be obvious from the lack of chives, onion powder, dill, parsley, etc. Many other buttermilk dressing recipes on here that are vastly superior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roderic Rinehart

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centerville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
What if I have Miracle Whip instead of mayo and Cider vinegar instead of Rice wine vinegar? Too much varience?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Honey Mustard Dressing II

This dressing is great for salads and for dipping veggies.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States