Creamy Buttered Cucumbers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Like others, I was a bit hesitant about this recipe. But it was delicious! A nice change from the typical vinegar/cucumber salads. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
My husband and I were very surprised that we liked this. It seemed such an odd combination but it was tasty. I even liked it before I added the sour cream. The sauteed cucumbers in butter had a sweet/savory flavor that was very nice. It was a nice change to help use up all the fresh cucumbers from the garden. We will certainly try these again. Since our cukes were kirbys fresh from the garden, I left the skins on and it was still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrBadCookWhoLikes2Cook
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I'm not a big cucumber person, but this is really good. I followed the directions exactly and followed other reviewers suggestions about adding garlic powder and Parmesan cheese. This recipe will be used again and again this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrBadCookWhoLikes2Cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I thought this was at least a different way to use up the cucumbers from the garden. Very interesting. We actually needed to add salt at the table because the sauce needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concordia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Simple and delicious. I was a bit leary of cooking cucumbers, but it turned out great. I used the seedless "English" cucumbers. They cook up better and have less moisture. I have actually made this several times, but never reviewed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This provided a pleasantly cool contrast to the rather spicy 'Stuffed Cod Wrapped in Bacon' I made tonight, but other than that, we weren't overly wowed. Thanks anyway, molly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
This is a great alternative to just using cucumbers in a salad. The butter and onion are delicious with them. And I was surprised that the cucumbers remained crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
The first time I made this recipe I was really impressed the taste of this vegetable cooked. When I reheated the leftovers the cream separated a bit and gave it almost a cheesy consistency and flavor. So the next time I made this I added a few tablespoons of Parmesan cheese sprinkled over it at the end of cooking and the flavor was even better. I also added a minced clove of garlic to the onions when cooking for extra flavor. I'm thinking this might also be a good base for tomato sauce instead of the cream for and Italian flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I loved it! All the flavors together were great. Very fresh and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Artesia, New Mexico, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
I have always loved trying new and unexpected recipes! That amount of salt is probably meant to be sprinkled on the cucumbers, in a colander, so that they will drain their excess water. I always rinse the drained cucumbers and pat dry before proceeding with the recipe. Maybe, the heavy cream was meant to be a substitute for the sour cream. I would imagine that using both would be very good. I used much more than a pinch of dill. Even our most dubious tasters rated it highly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Creamy Celery Root Mash

See how to make a quick, creamy vegetable side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States