Creamy Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I used 1 and 1/2 cups of butter-that was still too much. I agree that it must be a typo. Great frosting, just use two sticks (one cup unsalted) I flavored one with almond extract..was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Yummy!!! This is my new frosting recipe 2nd time - had to through it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This is an easy recipe to follow. I only used 1 stick of butter, and about 1 Tbs of Heavy Cream and between 1/4 & 1/2 cup of powered sugar. It does have a strong butter flavor which is ok with my mom as she loves butter. I think it is too buttery and I would add more sugar if it was for me. It was for my mom for Mothers Day, so less sugar and more butter flavor this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
If I could rate this with more stars I would! the first time I halved the recipe, thinking I'd have enough for 24 cupcakes... sadly I did not. It iced about 12 (heavily) the only think I did differently than the recipe stated was I added about a teaspoon of vanilla. This is my go to icing recipe from now on. The ten minute whipping is the key, and unsalted butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
We tried it on Christmas cookies this year AFTER trying a flop recipe. Thanks for saving the day it was fabulous and so yummy...adults and kids alike raved over the cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah
Home Town: Brinkley, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
excellent BUT please follow directions. This requires a lot of beating otherwise it is not successful. Like most things, the results are worth it..............not too sweet or cloying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Yummy! I made mine yellow for a lacrosse ball cake and it was fab! Tasty and easy to work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I had never made this kind of frosting. Usually I do Icing (milk, confection sugar, vinilla. Simple-I don't even use a recipe) I like the taste of the icing much better but that is no fault of this recipe. I needed frosting to go under Fondant because I find the Fodant by itself unappealing. At first I didn't think it was going to make the amount promised (2 9in cakes) but after whipping the butter for more than 10 minutes and adding the sugar and cream I had more than enough. I don't know how much sugar I added but it was more than a cup--I kept adding a little at a time to cover the overwhelming butter taste. I also added more cream so the extra sugar wouldn't weigh down the fluffyness ( I used confectionist sugar, I do not recommend regular sugar) It came out very light and fluffy. It is very rich, not something that I would want to eat a lot of. The cake came out beautiful and everyone exclaimed over the frosting so it was a hit. Although next time I would add vanilla. I think the trick is to add the sugar and cream to taste and not stick to the recipe and maybe add some flavor extract of your choice. I am sure I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States