Creamy Broccoli With Mustard Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I found it refreshing to find a broccoli soup recipe that did not use cheese as my family must watch cholesterol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
This is so good! And I've tried a couple of the other recipes on this site for broccoli soup. Great flavour! I used skim milk instead of whole milk and it tasted so good. It was definitely less fat/less sodium than some of the other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This soup has potential but as written it lacks flavor. I caramelized the onion and added another 1/2 tsp dry mustard. I used evaporated milk in place of the half & half as it imparts a creamy texture without the fat and calories. I added Parmesan cheese as a garnish which did help flavor the soup somewhat. I was out of my good Smoked Spanish Paprika which would have been a nice addition. I will use it next time. This would be a nice soup to serve with a panini type sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
As written, I didn't feel the spices in this soup "worked"; but when I melted in cheese, the flavors melded beautifully. It's quite thick with the addition of the cheese, and a small cup can be used as a dip for breadsticks or eaten plain with crackers. I would probably use this as my first choice for a buffet or appetizer soup. One note - I never use oregano, but always substitute its milder cousin, marjoram. For a great supper soup, see Cream of Broccoli Soup I by Antooskin. It's flavorful without being spicy and has a thinner consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. I make a lot of dishes using broccoli florets, and I often have leftover stems, which I don't particularly like to eat steamed. This was a great way to get rid of them! I ended up tweaking the spices, and as a few other reviewers suggested, added a little bit of cheese. For anyone willing to give it a try, this is a good base that you can customize to your satisfaction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I really enjoyed how easy this recipe really was. My husband is not a huge broccoli fan but since I love it, I though this would be a good way to get him to eat it..success!! I think I would add just a touch more mustard, I could taste it if I really focused on it but thought a bit more would be even better. carmelizing the onions gave a great flavour. I will difinatley make this again..great cool weather meal. After making this again....I do have to say the extra mustard was what was needed and a bit more spice... I wish more people would try this recipe!! It is awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Very different. I wouldn't really call it creamy though. The mustard really changed the taste of the soup. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karenrf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This sounded good but it was extremely bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States