Creamy Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
What a refreshing change from frozen broccoli and processed cheese soup. I pureed the broccoli and red onion together before adding it to the broth. I also used cornstarch to thicken it instead of milk and flour. I look forward to making this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Vickers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I'm giving it 5 stars for the base of the soup....I of course made my own addages of celery, carrots, yellow potatoes, poultry seasoning, and w the 2 cups of cheddar, I added 1/2 small velveeta. This is the best soup ever. Even using it as a 'dip' with crackers is awesome. My 3 yo is loving it!! Thanks for the recipie :) Happy cooking everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Yum-O! Loved this soup! It's quick and easy and you really can't go wrong with the flavours. I've made this twice now (I doubled the broth and broccoli because my hubby and son LOVE soup but kept the milk/flour the same). You can play around with the herbs and cheeses (I happend to grab the Italian seasoning and thyme this time, not just oregano), I added a dash of nutmeg and used a sharp cheddar. I used my immersion blender just before adding the cheese. Can't wait to maybe try it with some asiago for a different flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was really good! I love that it has fresh broccoli and not processed cheese. After reading other reviews I added more broccoli (about 3 1/2 to 4 c) and almost another cup of chicken broth to help it boil in. We love broccoli in our house, so I cut them in all sizes to cook so some broke down, but we still got some chunks in our soup. With all the extra I put in my husband, daughter (2yrs) and I finished almost all of it! One nice sized bowl for leftovers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I think this is great! This is the first time I've made a cream of broccoli soup. I used this one because it seemed simple, amd I like that! I made a couple alterations: added half a carrot, half a celery stick and I puréed them with the broc and onion before I added the milk part. Then I steamed about a cup more broc cut up in tiny pieces and added that when I added the cheese. I also doubled the cheese. Very good! I also took a little of the onion out before I puréed, it smelled a bit oniony to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Just made a big batch of this for my work week. It was delicious! As did some of the others, I also pureed it, along with the spices and cheese for a smoother soup. The only thing is that I thought the oregano was a little overpowering, so next time I will use 1/4tsp rather than 1/2tsp. Definitely keeping this recipe in the book. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I used the white chedder as someone suggested and it was too bitter. Soup is not thick. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
For how simple this recipe was, it was delicious! I skipped the onion for preference, but did add some onion and garlic powder with the salt and pepper. I also found my soup wasn't quite thick enough for me, so I added some cornstarch to thicken it up. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This soup is so easy to put together, it's cheap, and it tastes great! I also used a wand mixer to puree the broccoli a bit for a smoother consistency. I don't know what a "serving" is, but I doubled the recipe to use a 16 oz. bag of frozen broccoli. We ate this once as a meal with homemade rye bread and once as an appetizer, so the serving seemed a bit small, as I made a 10 serving batch. Definitely add the cheese. Thanks for the recipe, Marge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatsREALfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This was delicious. I had to tweak it a bit due to not having fresh broccoli on hand. I also doubled the recipe. I cooked a 12 oz bag of frozen broccoli and cauliflower and then mashed a bit. I also used 4 cups of chicken bouillon as I didn't have chicken broth. I followed the rest of the recipe to a tee.... Fantastic. The kids loved it! Thanks so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States