Creamy Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Super quick, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I loved the oregano in this soup and I also added some garlic. This is also good with some left-over ham added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Great recipe. I used cream instead of thickening milk and also doubled the amount of broth. I felt there wasn't enough soup base. I just cut the broccoli pretty fine and didn't feel the need to puree it after. Great texture and fantastic flavour considering the recipe was fairly basic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
It was definitely very quick..but at the expense of some flavor. Next time, I'll saute the onion and maybe some carrots in butter first. It was still tasty, but maybe adding the powdered mustard as someone recommended, or some nutmeg, to give it another zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This soup was very good, quick and easy. Not quite as yummy as Panera or au bon pain, but much healthier without all the butter and cream or half-and-half. All in all a good trade-off, since I got my broccoli-cheddar soup "fix" without all the guilt! I did as others suggested and used less oregano, but no other changes. I used lower sodium chicken broth and 2%-milk cheddar cheese, added a little salt and pepper to taste at the end. I will definitely make this again, thank you for the recipe! edit: I changed my rating from four stars to five stars. Love it! I just reheated the leftover soup I made yesterday, and it is even better the next day. Just as yummy as restaurant broccoli-cheddar soup. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arctic200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
So quick and easy! I followed the recipe and used my immersion blender to puree the soup after I added the milk. The oregano was a perfect addition. Next time I will try some of the additions others have mentioned, but this soup is very tasty as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hattifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Very good, quick & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I wanted to love this recipe but I just did not. I thought it was bland. Perhaps a little salt would have helped, but it would not have done the job. My husband, however, did enjoy it and was happy with it. So I thought three stars would be a nice compromise. Others have loved this soup. I really liked the idea of starting with a chicken broth as the base and the simple-ness of the recipe. I will look some more for the right soup for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Very yummy on a cold day. However, I omitted the onions and added diced potatoes and either apple wood smoked or hickory bacon. Super good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is my new favorite cream of broccoli soup recipe. I did make modifications though. I doubled the recipe, used 1/2 white onion, 2 cloves of garlic (minced), and sautéed the onion/garlic in 1 Tbsp of butter in the soup pot...once that was ready I added the chicken broth. Rather than 2 cups milk, I substituted 1 cup half and half. Also, I garnished with cheddar cheese and noticed it needed more salt and pepper than I initially thought. Served with French bread. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States